Cajan Stuffed Chicken & Veggie Medley

I was really excited when I saw this recipe in the Food Network Magazine (September 2010 ed) — Pepper-Jack Chicken with Succotash.  The picture made it all the more appealing.  I did add in some extra spices and veggies to make it a little better.  I’d have to say, and my four taste-testers would agree, this is probably one of the best meals I’ve made; not only in the health aspect, but the chicken was juicy and tender and the veggies complimented it nicely.  I ended up getting most of my ingredients from Whole Foods and picked the chicken up today at Walmart on the way home in the produce section.  Hope you enjoy!

Cajan Stuffed Chicken & Veggie Medley

4oz pepper-jack cheese, shredded (I used a 120z bag)
2 cups baby arugula, roughly chopped
2 large, skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I used a 10 pack)
1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for brushing (I used EVOO)
Salt/Pepper
1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons Cajun Spice Blend
1 cup frozen lima beans, thawed (I used 2 cups)
1 medium yellow *summer* squash, diced
2 cups corn kernals (I used a frozen bag)
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved (I used 1 square box)
Juice of 1 lime (didn’t use)

1. Combine the cheese and arugula in a bowl.  Cut a deep 2-inch-wide pocket in the thickest part of each chicken breast w. a paring knife.  Stuff with the arugula mixture.  Brush with olive oil and season with salt and the Cajan spice blend.
**In a bowl, I mixed together the olive oil and the cajun spice blend before brushing it on all sides of the stuffed chicken breast.**


2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I think this was in the oven for about 45 min before I cut it in the middle to check if it was done or not.

3.  After you put the chicken in the oven, heat 1 tablespoon EVOO in a skillet over hight heat (I used my largest skillet). Add lima beans, squash, and corn, season with salt and pepper and cook on high heat. I added a fair amount of rosemary and thyme to give the veggies more flavoring.  I also added in a frozen bag of peppers (red, green & yellow) to add some more color. Stir continuously.  After the veggies are just about done/tender, add in the tomatoes and cook for 2 more minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the lime juice as wanted.

For another look at the meal, go to: http://twitpic.com/3srxzb

Without the extra veggies, the nutritional value is:  Cals:  462, Carbs:  30g,  Fiber: 7g, Protein 48g.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jimmy says:

    This looks amazing. I believe that I will have to make it 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

