Stuffed Chicken-Peppers & Onion

Hungry? Take a look in your fridge, freezer, pantry.  I’m sure you’ll be able to come up with a delicious meal without having to go to the grocery store.  At least, that’s what I did tonight. What you need:

*1 Red Pepper
*1 Green Pepper
*Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
*1 onion
*EVOO
*Cajun spice
*Cheese of your choice–I chose Parmesan

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Chop both the green and red peppers until you are satisfied with the amount; I chopped 1/8th of each pepper since I was only stuffing 2 Chicken Breasts. Do the same with the onion; I used 1/4th of the onion.

Once you are finished chopping, mix in the cheese of your choice with the 3 veggies until you are satisfied; I used about 2 handfuls of parmesan.

Be sure to rinse off the chicken breasts and cut off the excess fat.  Then carefully slice into the meat, so it creates a pocket and stuff the chicken with your veggie/cheese mixture.

Once the chicken has been stuffed, brush a mixture of the EVOO and Cajun spice onto all the sides of the meat, then place the meat in a baking dish.  If you have any leftover veggie-cheese mixture you can sprinkle the remains on top of the chicken.

Bake in the oven for about 45 minutes or until the center of the chicken is no longer pink. Enjoy!

I attempted to make a rice dish as a side, but it turned out pretty gross.  I used: lime, white rice, chopped onions, chopped tomatoes and parsley.  I think next time, I’ll try using green chili peppers instead of the chopped onion–to create a lime/chipotle effect for the rice. Maybe. I’m not sure how that will taste either. This dish was just created using what I had, and before I even made it I decided that if it turned out horrible, I was going to Cook Out! =]

Leave a Reply

