Baked Veggie Alfredo

I’m broke.

I mean that quite literally. My bank account reads zero dinero and will continue to do so until payday. Yet, I still have to eat right?  Although, I’m sure starving over the next few days could somehow be transformed into “fasting for Christ” but I don’t think my heart would really be in the right place for that to equal an honest assessment of my state of being.

I used questionable vegetables.

They have been chillin in my veggie drawer for quite a few weeks now.  I picked the best veggies of each kind and threw the others away. I’m not trying to die of food poisoning here!! I just need to eat.

This is what I made:

Looks pretty yummy right? I take it that you want the recipe? Wellllll…I suppose I can give it to you! =]

Baked Veggie Alfredo

*1 box Garden Rotini noodles
*1 zucchini, chopped/sliced
*1 squash, chopped/sliced
*3 medium carrots, peeled & chopped
*1 can Whole Kernel Corn, no salt added, drained
*1 small jar of Creamy Alfredo
*Shredded Parmesan Cheese

Start off by bringing some water to a boil in a medium/large pot.  During this process, take a Wok (or a medium/large skillet) and, circling the bowl twice, poor some EVOO into it, with the heat somewhere between medium and high. Once the EVOO has started to sputter, pour the carrots, zucchini, squash, and corn all into the Wok and continuously stir. You may do this up to 10 minutes (I didn’t time myself–sorry about that!) Remove the veggies from heat once and proceed to pre-heating the oven to 350 degrees.

Once the water has come to a boil, add in the noodles and boil until al dente.  I only used 1/2 the box of noodles, so I’ll be able to make this recipe again!

After the noodles are cooked, drain the water and pour in the Alfredo sauce. Stir until all the noodles are covered. Add the stir-fry veggies into this mixture and continue to stir until everything is covered in Alfredo sauce.

Scoop this mixture into a 9 x 13 pan; make sure to spread it evenly.  For an extra touch, I sprinkled shredded Parmesan cheese over the whole dish; this also helped me to tell when it was finished baking, due to the cheese and sauce bubbling.

Once the oven is heated to 350 degrees, bake this dish for about 10-20 minutes.  Once the cheese has melted and both the cheese and sauce start bubbling, its time to pull the Baked Veggie Alfredo out of the oven and devour it!  I ate 2 small dessert sized plates and still have around 3/4ths of the casserole dish to consume over the next week; which is amazing, because I don’t have to worry about food now until my next paycheck!

I almost added peas and broccoli to this dish but decided not to at the last second.  I’m sure bell peppers or other veggies would be an excellent addition had I had them in my fridge to cook with.  I can’t wait to make a chicken version of this the next time I have a hankering for Chicken Alfredo.

I hope you enjoy this meal! Let me know what your experience with it is! =]

Leave a Reply

