Zesty Mexican Quinoa Salad

I was searching through some blogs that I follow for a yummy, healthy looking meal and came across this gem on http://thefauxmartha.com/?s=quinoa page. I had never eaten quinoa before, and it took me a while to find it in the grocery store. I did learn that it is kept near the rice area (for anyone who goes looking).

Zesty Mexican Quinoa Salad

recipe from The Dallas Morning News; serves 6


1 c. uncooked quinoa
2 c. vegetable broth
1 tbsp. olive oil
15 oz. can black beans, drained
15 oz. can corn, drained
1 avocado, diced
1 c. grape tomatoes, diced
1/2 c. red onion, diced
zest of half a lime
salt and pepper
cilantro, for garnish

DRESSING
1/2 c. olive oil
2 tbsp. cilantro, chopped
3 tbsp. white wine vingear
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/2 tbsp. honey

1. Cook quinoa in broth according to package directions. My package said to place 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups liquid (in this case, veggie broth) in a pot and set it to a vigorous boil. Then simmer (about 15 minutes) until all the liquid is gone and the quinoa has white squiggles on it (yea, I didn’t get the white squiggle part either until I saw it. Its almost as if the quinoa opens up from the casing). Once cooked, drizzle with olive oil and set aside.

 

2. Meanwhile, combine beans, corn, avocado, tomatoes and onion in a large bowl.


3. Combine dressing ingredients into a small bowl and whisk until emulsified. Add dressing and zest to bean mixture and toss. Salt and pepper to taste.

4. Spread quinoa on a large platter, or dollop smaller portions onto individual plates. Top with bean mixture. Garnish with cilantro.


Tip for Cutting & Dicing Avocados:

*Take the knife & slice into the avocado until you feel the pit. Slowly (and carefully) cut the entire way around the avocado until you have 2 halves, like so:

*Use the knife and whack the pit in the avocado. Gently twist the pit out. Carefully push the pit off the knife and trash it.

*Using the point of the knife, cut into the avocado in strips, making sure to cut only to the skin and not through the skin. After you finish cutting one direction, turn the avocado 90 degrees and slice the other direction. This pre-dices and keeps it need and tidy for you. After you are done slicing, you can spoon out the pieces. Ta-da!

 

I was not a big fan of this, sadly. I think it mostly has to do with the vinegar based dressing, since most vinegars make me get sick to my stomach. I think next time, I will try this without the dressing, because I’m sure I will like it then. =] Let me know what you think if you try this recipe out! 

*This is worth 8 points per serving on Weight Watcher’s PointsPlus*

Leave a Reply

