Taco Soup

This has to be one of THE best soups I’ve ever made.

Hearty, chunky, quick, easy, healthy…it is fantastic!!

What You Need:

*1/2 lb lean ground beef  (I used 1 lb)
*2-3 garlic cloves, minced
*1 yellow onion, diced
*1 large bell pepper, diced
*28oz can of tomato sauce
*1/2 c chicken stock (I used chicken broth)
*
15oz can of corn, drained
*15oz can of black beans, drained
*2 tsp cumin
*2 tsp chili powder
*1/2 tsp paprika
*1 T cilantro, chopped
*1 tsp sugar
*small dash of cinnamon
*salt
*pepper
*olive oil

1. Brown the ground beef.

2. Meanwhile, add garlic, onion, and bell peppers to a stock pot.  Sauté with olive oil for 5-8 minutes. Salt to taste.

3. Add tomato sauce, chicken stock, corn, beans, and meat to the stock pot. Add cumin, chili powder, paprika, cilantro, cinnamon, and sugar. Add a dash of salt and pepper. Stir.

4. Taste and add more spices if needed. For me, this was perfect as it was, but you might like it spicier.

5. Allow to simmer for 30-45 minutes. Garnish and serve.

This soup is super easy to make and put on the back burner to cook as you do other things. I used Fire-Roasted Chipotle Chips from Tostitos to dip-n-scoop the soup at times. It was super yummy. I now have leftovers for the next few days. =]

I’m betting you could add cheese to this, or even avocado to make this more taco-ish.

Let me know what you think!!! If you want better photos, head on over to http://thefauxmartha.com/2011/09/22/taco-soup/, the true originator of the recipe. =]

*This is 7 points on the Weight Watcher’s Plus Points.*

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kat says:

    YUMMY!! Taco soup reminds me of chili. I love how chunky your soup is! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    Like

  2. eppiwhy says:

    OK I totally made this last night and it was incredible. INCREDIBLE. I followed the recipe exactly but only had a 15-oz can of tomato sauce so I added a bit more chicken stock. Is still so hearty and even topped mine with a dollop of sour cream + cheese. THANK YOU for this!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

