South of the Boarder Sandwiches

Today is the Super Bowl!!! Whoooooo!!! Who are you rooting for: Patriots or the Giants?

I haven’t really paid attention to this year’s season, but on a whim, I’ll say I’m rooting for the Patriots. No particular reason why. =]

 

Yesterday, I had a super lovely time at home visiting my parents. My adorable puppy would not leave me alone for the world, then again, I wouldn’t stop cuddling her and playing fetch, so it was a win-win situation.

I’m trying to persuade my parents to let me go on a cross-country road trip this summer. We’ll see how that goes. =]

I saw this recipe on another blog and the colors alone made me want to try it.

I can’t say I was disappointed. I hope you aren’t disappointed either.

*1 loaf French Bread, cut into 1/2-3/4″ thick slices
*1/2 c olives, chopped
*1/2 tsp chili powder
*1/2 tsp cumin
*1/4 tsp salt
*1/3 c mayo
*1/3 c sour cream
* 1/3 c green onions, chopped
*1 lb turkey (to make this vegetarian, just don’t add the meat!)
*2 medium tomatoes, thinly sliced
*2 ripe avocados, sliced
*3/4 c cheddar cheese, shredded
*3/4 c pepper jack cheese, shredded

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine olives, chili powder, cumin, and salt.  Set aside 2 T of this mixture.

Add the mayo, sour cream, and green onions and mix thoroughly.

Slice the bread into 1/2-3/4″ pieces. Place on an un-greased baking sheet and spread a thin layer of the mayo mixture on both sides of the bread. Top with slices of turkey (or not) and tomatoes. Spread another thin layer of the mayo mixture (if needed). Top with avocados and cheese. Sprinkle the reserved olive mixture on top.

Bake for 15 minutes.

I think next time I won’t spread the mayo mixture on the bottom of the sandwich, and I will leave out the olives since I’m not a big olive fan. Overall, this is an excellent sandwich to have a parties (such as the Super Bowl) or as a snack when studying the night away.

*This is 8 points on the Weight Watcher’s Plus Points*

Leave a Reply

