Santa Fe Chicken

I saw this on Pinterest a few weeks ago. I even bought all the ingredients last week, but I was very hesitant to make it. Which probably has something to do with the massive amount of Minestrone Soup I made and all the leftovers I’m still eating. Maybe.

Anyway, this recipe turned out even better than I was hoping it would. So far my Pinterest attempts have been 50-50 on the good vs. not so good, but this…this is a winner!!

Santa Fe Chicken

*1 lb chicken (I used chicken tenderloins)
*1 14.4oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies
*1 15oz can black beans
*8oz frozen corn
*1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
*1 14.4oz can chicken broth
*3 green onions
*1 tsp garlic powder
*1 tsp onion powder
*1 tsp cumin
*1 tsp cayenne pepper
*3/4 tsp each of salt & pepper

Step 1: In a crock pot, combine chicken broth, beans, corn, tomatoes, cilantro, green onions, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, pepper, and chicken.

Step 2: Cook on high for 6 hours.

Step 3: About 30 minutes before serving, remove the chicken from the crock pot and shred it.  I found this easily done by using a fork and knife.  Place the chicken back in the crock pot and stir.

Step 4: Make some rice.  I used my rice cooker which has the combined effort of measuring rice, water, and turning the cooker on. Super tough, right?

Step 5: This is the fun part — eating the meal!!

Leave a Reply

