Raspberry Cream Cheese Cake

I love raspberries.

I mean, I LOVE them.

FullSizeRender-1-1

Needless to say, when I saw a CAKE + RASPBERRIES recipe on Pinterest thanks to I Wash…You Dry, it was a match made in heaven. I knew I had to try this recipe out, and pronto!

So I did…the same day.

And I am so #sorrynotsorry about my lack of patience when it came to baking this cake!

IMG_5491

1 8oz package of cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
1 cup sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup raspberry preserves
*Powdered sugar, fresh raspberries, & ice cream if wanted*

FullSizeRender-3-1      FullSizeRender-4-3

In a medium mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter, and sugar until the three ingredients are creamed together.

Add in half of the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Then add in the eggs, sour cream, and vanilla. Mix this on low speed until the dry ingredients have been incorporated, then turn up the speed and beat for about 2 minutes.

Add the remaining flour and mix on low speed until well incorporated.

FullSizeRender-2-1

Pour some of the batter into a 8x4x2-inch baking dish, about 1/4 inch thick to cover the bottom of the dish.

Spoon 6 – 8 portions of raspberry preserves on top of the batter and swirl the preserves into the batter to create a marble effect.

FullSizeRender-5-1

Add the remainder of the batter on top and smooth out evenly in the dish. As you can see in the photo above, I swirled the first layer of raspberry preserves and then dolloped the remaining batter on top.

IMG_5502

Once the remaining batter has been smoothed out, spoon out 6 – 8 portions of raspberry preserves on top.  I had some trouble marbling the top portion for whatever reason, so I ended up smoothly the preserves over the entire top to create a sweet topping layer instead of a marbled effect.

In a 350 degree oven, bake the cake 30 – 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_5506

Once the cake has cooled off, slice and serve. For a sweetly tart garnish, sprinkle some powdered sugar on top of each slice and add a few fresh raspberries. I served this with a side of Orange & Vanilla ice cream. It was wonderfully delicious!!

FullSizeRender-6

For Next Time:
I will definitely be making this cake again. Perhaps even next week! This cake is dense and the raspberry preserves provide just the right amount of sweet to delight your tastebuds. I think next time I will add a 3rd layer of preserves. I want a better raspberry-to-cake ratio going on.

I hope you love this recipe as much as I do!

Happy Baking! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are amazing! I just followed, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

