Rosemary Biscuits

Did everybody have a great holiday weekend? 🙂 I love long weekends spent with family and trying new recipes out in the kitchen!

Speaking of new recipes – I have a new one for y’all! I had a hankering for some biscuits and decided to whip up these golden puffs of joy.

*2 cups all-purpose flour
*1 stick of butter, cold
*2 tsp baking powder
*3/4 tsp salt
*1 tsp fresh rosemary, leaves only (no stems)
*1/2 tsp cracked pepper
*1 tsp sugar
*1 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Mince the fresh rosemary leaves to a fine powder. I used 2 small stems worth of leaves (about 20-30 leaves) in order to get roughly 1 tsp of minced rosemary.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, minced rosemary, cracked pepper. Stir until well mixed.

Take the stick of butter from the refrigerator and slice into 10-12 pieces.  Toss all of the butter into the flour mixture and cut with a pastry cutter until the butter is the size of a pea or smaller. Be sure to use only cold butter for this part of the recipe, not room temperature butter.

Once the butter has been cut and mixed, pour 1/2 cup milk into the bowl. Mix well. If the batter is very thick, add some more milk until the batter has the consistency of paste. I ended up using the whole cup of milk.

Spray a baking sheet with cooking oil and dollop out 8-10 biscuits.

Bake in the oven for 30-32 minutes or until golden brown.

    

Baker’s Notes:
Word to the wise – a little rosemary goes a looonnnggg way. I learned this last month when cooking another meal using rosemary. But, I’m glad I learned the lesson prior to making these biscuits, otherwise I would have overpowered them with rosemary by adding more than 1 teaspoon.  Please trust me that 1 teaspoon is more than enough!

My family and I really liked these biscuits. We didn’t even add any toppings to them (butter, honey, etc) – ate them just as they were. Absolutely delicious!

Total prep time: 10-15 minutes.

The original recipe for these biscuits came from Budget Bytes. Since I was using my oven to bake two things at once, I had to change this recipe’s temperature and baking time to match what was already cooking, Parmesan Chicken.  But you can check out the original recipe here!

Happy Baking!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    They look delicious! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

