Chili Maple Pork Tenderloin

Do you ever become tired of eating the same meats over and again?

Chicken. Beef. Turkey. Chicken. Beef. Turkey.

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

I know what you’re thinking – uhhh hello, eat FISH and all things SEAFOOD!!

But, I do not enjoy seafood.at.all.  I can’t stomach the flavors and textures. I hear the health benefits are amazing, so sometimes I’ll pop a few fish oil pills for some omega-3 fatty acids, but that’s about as close to seafood as I will get.

Y’all, I am a hopeless cause when it comes to seafood.

So that leaves me with….PORK: the other white meat.

My best friend, Rebecca, introduced me to this Chili Maple Pork recipe a few years ago and it has been my go-to pork recipe ever since. I even made it for Christmas dinner a few years back!

Below is my version of the recipe with some adaptations.  I wanted more of the sweet and spicy glaze and increased some ingredients in order to do so. I hope that, after you’ve tasted this recipe, you enjoy eating pork as much as I do!

*2 lbs pork tenderloin
*1 tablespoon chili powder
*3/8 teaspoons ground chipotle pepper
*1 1/2 teaspoons salt
*1 tablespoon vegetable oil
*1 cup apple cider
*3 tablespoons maple syrup
*1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

In a small bowl, mix together the chili powder, ground chipotle pepper, and salt.

Trim the pork tenderloin of any excess fat and cut the meat into 1/2 – 1 inch thick medallions.

     

Sprinkle the chipotle spices over the pork and rub the spices into the meat.

In a large skillet, heat the vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook until golden, about 2-4 minutes per side.

Add the apple cider, maple syrup, and apple cider vinegar to the skillet.  Bring to a boil, scraping up the bottom of the skillet to prevent the sauce and meat from burning.

Reduce the sauce and meat over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is reduced to a thick glaze, about 20-30 minutes.  With a meat thermometer, check that the pork is fully cooked (no pink!).

Once the meat is fully cooked and the sauce is a thick glaze, its time to eat!

Happy Cooking!

One Comment Add yours

  1. I’m glad you liked it!!! It’s my go-to pork recipe as well. Great, now I want some! Do you want to come make it for me?

    Like

Leave a Reply

