Crockpot Chicken Fajitas

Do you ever go shopping and find a great deal?

I’m talking about a GREAT deal? The kind that just makes your day and you smile every time you think about it, ya know?

That was me and this package of mini sweet peppers. I found them for only $1 at our local grocery store.

A DOLLAR!!!

They were still fresh, with no spots, and very firm to the touch. A package of 3 multi-colored sweet peppers was going for $5, and here was a whole package of mini ones for only a buck. I totally bought them, no questions asked, no menu planned. Impulse buy at its finest but I just love a great deal!

When I got home, I rummaged through my fridge and found a lonely green pepper and yellow onion. And then, after searching Pinterest like the pin-addict I am, I decided to try my hand at making Crockpot Chicken Fajitas that I kept seeing numerous pins about.

Oh.my.wordddddd are these amazing. I think I’ll make chicken fajitas in the crockpot from now on!

*1 package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts
*1 yellow onion, peeled and sliced
*Sweet peppers, sliced (3 large sweet peppers or 30-40 little sweet peppers)
*1/2 cup chicken broth
*1/2 teaspoon salt
*2 tablespoons cumin
*1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
*1/4 cup lime juice
*tortillas
*fajita fixings: cheese, salsa, etc.

Spray your crockpot with cooking oil or grease.  Toss the sliced onions and peppers into the crockpot.

Place the rinsed chicken on top of the veggies.

In a small bowl or cup, mix the chicken broth, salt, cumin, chili powder, and lime juice.  Pour over the chicken and vegetables.

Put the lid on the crockpot and cook on high for 4 hours or until the chicken is fully cooked.

Once fully cooked, shred the chicken and place back into the crock pot. Stir the shredded chicken with the vegetables and juices; let this cook on low for about 30 minutes longer.

When you’re ready to eat, use a slotted spoon to scoop up the chicken and vegetables from the juices. Assemble your fajitas and enjoy!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

