Clodagh McKenna’s Irish Farmhouse Chicken Casserole

Rain, rain come on down
Come on down and hit the ground
Hit the ground instead of me
Because wet is not what I want to be!

Yea, that is my attempt at really bad poetry…but at least it rhymes! 🙂

Since it is so dreary outside, I thought I’d make something hearty and warming and cozy! When I came across Clodagh McKenna’s Irish Farmhouse Chicken Casserole, I knew this was what I wanted to make.

*2 tablespoons olive oil
*1 rotisserie chicken, cut into 8 pieces
*8 bacon slices, chopped into 1/2-inch pieces
*2 garlic cloves, peeled and left whole
*4 shallots, peeled and left whole
*3 parsnips, peeled and chopped into 2-inch pieces
*4 carrots, peeled and chopped into 2-inch pieces
*2 onions, peeled and chopped into 8 wedges per onion
*1/2 lb potatoes (I used a mix of golden potatoes and red potatoes)
*2 1/2 cups chicken stock
*1 tablespoon honey
*1 tablespoon dijon mustard
*2 teaspoons fresh parsley, finely chopped
*1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped finely
*Sea salt and ground pepper to taste

     

In a stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. When the oil is hot, add the chicken and bacon.  Cook until lightly browned.  Remove the meat from the stock pot and place on a plate.

      

Add the garlic, shallots, parsnips, carrots, onion, and potatoes to the stock pot and cook until lightly caramelized in color.

Return the meat to the stock pot and stir together.

In a saucepan, heat the chicken stock over medium-high heat.  Add the honey and dijon mustard to the stock and combine well.  Once the stock is hot, pour it over the chicken and vegetables.

Add the chopped parsley and thyme, season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer for 45 – 60 minutes until the chicken is fully cooked and the potatoes are soft.

Baker’s Notes:
I made some adaptions to Clodagh’s original recipe, found here.  This was based on personal preference and what I know my family does/doesn’t like to eat.  After having cooked this recipe, while it’s extremely hearty and tasteful, there are still a few things I would do differently the next time I cook this.


I think next time I will buy boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of using a whole rotisserie chicken.  I also will leave out the parsnips, as I found out that I’m not particularly fond of parsnips. I had never eaten one before this recipe and find they are too fragrant for my tastebuds. Other than that, I heartily enjoyed this meal! You can never go wrong with chicken and vegetables!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

