Book Review: “An Endless Christmas” by Cynthia Ruchti

An Endless Christmas
Written By: Cynthia Ruchti
Publisher: Worthy Publishing Group
Month, Year: October 2015

Summary from the publisher, Worthy Publishing Group:

Christmas takes a very different turn when the guests of honor break up instead of announcing their engagement. Trapped with his family, they learn that love looks different than either imagined. Both in their eighties, Dodie and Wilson Binder celebrate every Christmas as if it were their last. This year, their grandson Micah is planning to ask his girlfriend, Katie, to marry him so they can celebrate with the whole family. But things go very wrong when she says, “no.” Now they are stuck. Too many people, too much snow, and too little room should be a recipe for disaster. But sometimes too much is just enough. Especially when it’s Christmas.

When I received my copy of An Endless Christmas, you would have thought the beloved holiday had come early. I tore open my packaged present with the frenzy of a child awake at 5am on Christmas morning, and immediately set to “ooo-ing” and “awe-ing” over the cover, flipping through the pages, and gaining my first real feel of what the book would be about. I was so excited! The fact that I couldn’t stop everything I was doing right at that moment and begin reading was sheer torture.  But, when I was finally able to stop and read, this novella was pure Christmas delight.

From page 1 till the end, I was captivated.  Starting the novella off with a declined engagement peaked my interest off the bat. How many times when reading a story does the heroine actually say, “no” when the hero proposes marriage? Not many! This plot twist pulled me in, wanting to understand why Katie declined Micah’s proposal. As the pages turned, I was able to understand more about Katie’s broken past and where Micah’s unwavering love stemmed from — being part of a generational family committed to loving one another through thick and thin. And putting said family under one roof for one entire week ensured that Katie was in for a lot of loving, learning, and healing.

An aspect of this story that I really enjoyed was the family’s version of gift-giving. Or rather, their lack of giving gifts. Instead the little one were given presents, but the majority of the family donated what they would have spent on one another to a non-profit of their choice. I really, really, really liked this idea. I had never heard of anyone doing that before, or experienced that myself, but I think that would be a fun tradition to incorporate in my own family.

While I won’t give away the ending, I will say that this novella left me feeling warm and cozy inside. I was quite happy with how Cynthia Ruchti tied together the many character story lines of forgiveness, love, and grace and ultimately pressed upon Jesus’ forgiveness, love, and grace for us.

An Endless Christmas will leave you ready for your own Christmas week spent enjoying time together with family.  I would recommend this to anyone looking for a heart warming gift or holiday read! This book is set to hit shelves on October 13, 2015. When you pick up a copy to read yourself, let me know what you think! I’d love to chat about the book and characters within.

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novella from Cynthia Ruchti in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ally Dewing says:

    This sounds so interesting! I really want to get a stack of Christmas themed books ready to read for Christmas, will definitely have to keep my eye out for this! x

    allydewing.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

