Book Review: “Love in the Details” by Becky Wade

Love in the Details
Written By: Becky Wade
Publisher: Zondervan
Release Date: October 2015

Plot Summary:

She left him to save his future, but they’ve never gotten over each other.

When Josh returns to his hometown of Martinsburg, Texas, to help his best friend get married, he didn’t intend to run into church wedding coordinator—and ex-girlfriend—Holly. He can’t help but pine after the girl he never got over.

Holly broke up with Josh years ago in an attempt to ensure his future success. But she loved him then and still loves him now. As she helps him plan his best friend’s wedding, she can’t help but feel horrible for the pain she caused him. And even though she longs to be with Josh, she doesn’t feel worthy of his big-time lifestyle when she is more comfortable in her small town world. Will Josh and Holly be able to keep things as they are when their true feelings threaten to surface at every turn?

If you’re in the mood to cozy up on the couch with a blanket, slowly sipping a spot of tea while reading a great love story, then Love in the Details is for you.  This sweet novella had me in “reading mode only” for a couple of hours as I devoured the story from beginning till end; I could not put the book down! Is there such a thing as a novella series? If so, sign me up – I will be first in line for a sequel! It is that cute!

Becky Wade starts and finishes this story with two letters between our heroine and hero, Holly and Josh. I absolutely love this idea of letters being written but are never sent to the person intended. Talk about unrequited love! These letters really gave the reader a peek into the emotions of the characters, and laid out the foundation for the plot. The tension between Holly and Josh is almost tangible. I felt their emotions and the conflict within themselves at their first meeting on the sidewalk. Awkward! The ebb and flow of tension and relaxation throughout the plot was well written.

The only thing I wish there had been more of is the interactions with one of the secondary characters, Mrs. Chapel, Holly’s neighbor. I found myself giggling over quirky Mrs. Chapel’s constant insistence for grocery items and coffee. I hope when I’m an old woman (one day in the way, way, way off distance), someone in the neighborhood will bring me coffee on a daily basis! Ohhh, that would be wonderful!

Overall, I think this novella is a perfect read for a cozy afternoon inside, or when you’re needing some quiet time tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the upcoming holidays. This book is set to hit shelves on October 27, 2015. If you’ve read the novella or are looking forward to reading it, comment below! I’d love to chat more about Becky Wade‘s characters and story!

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novella from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

