Adventure Through The Foliage

I cannot endure
to waste anything so precious
as autumnal sunshine
by staying in the house.
~Nathaniel Hawthorne

Today, I went for a walk around my backyard.

Twice!

That may not seem like a huge feat but, for me, it is. It truly, truly is! Because for the past 6 days or so, I’ve been mostly laid up on the couch or chair or bed – or, during that brief moment I can only describe as stupidity when I decided lying on the floor would be a good option – because somehow, in some way, I threw my back out.

Don’t has me how I did it, because I have no answer. I only know that I did and now I’ve become one with the couch in my living room.  There is an official Kella-groove in the cushions!!

While I’m been chilling out, maxing, relaxing all cool, I’ve been catching up on my reading – I can’t wait to write these book reviews soon!  One book is on the power of prayer and it has been kicking my spiritual butt! I’ve also been reading a couple of fiction romances, catching up on sleep, and started watching Gilmore Girls for the first time in my life. I know, I know, I’m super late to the Gilmore Girl game! I’m about 10 episodes in and am really enjoying the show so far. By the time I’m all caught up, Netflix will have the new episodes out and ready for watching, right?! 😉

But today – today I walked! Most of this accomplishment originated from my Mom, who gave me the talk and basically shoved me out the door, pain and all. But I did it!

And the outside world was glorious to see!!! I mean, LOOK:

Aren’t those hues just glorious?!  I can’t believe its in the mid-70’s outside (where is the crisp weather?!)! It felt amazing to get out there, breathe in fresh air, and take in the landscape around me with my puppy trotting alongside me, crunching leaves beneath her little paws, sniffing for squirrels and rabbits, and hunting for her buried bone.

I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed this.

So, if you have the opportunity to do so — GO OUTSIDE!! Enjoy the weather. Take a walk around the block. Crunch some leaves under your toes or run them through your fingers.  Snap some photos and share them with me! I’d love to see your adventures through the foliage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

