Book Review: “Luther And Katharina” by Jody Hedlund

Luther and Katharina
Written By: Jody Hedlund
Publisher: WaterBrook Multnomah
Month, Year: October2015

Summary from the publisher, WaterBrook Multnomah:

She was a nun of noble birth. He, a heretic, a reformer…an outlaw of the Holy Roman Empire.  

In the 16th century, nun Katharina von Bora’s fate fell no further than the Abbey. Until she read the writings of Martin Luther. 

His sweeping Catholic church reformation—condemning a cloistered life and promoting the goodness of marriage—awakened her desire for everything she’d been forbidden. Including Martin Luther himself. 
 
Despite the fact that the attraction and tension between them is undeniable, Luther holds fast to his convictions and remains isolated, refusing to risk anyone’s life but his own. And Katharina longs for love, but is strong-willed. She clings proudly to her class distinction, pining for nobility over the heart of a reformer. They couldn’t be more different. 
 
But as the world comes tumbling down around them, and with Luther’s threatened life a constant strain, these unlikely allies forge an unexpected bond of understanding, support and love. 
 
Together, they will alter the religious landscape forever.

Jody Hedlund brings history to life in her latest novel, Luther And Katharina, a tale of Martin Luther and Katharina von Bora’s trial-tested relationship during the Protestant reformation. The swirling romance between Martin and Katharina amidst the chaos of religious upheaval, financial worries, and untoward violence kept me turning page after page. I readily admit that I devoured this beautifully written novel in two nights! It was hard enough to put the book down the first night, and I couldn’t go 48 hours without finishing off the novel!

Before reading Luther And Katharina, I was not overly familiar with Martin Luther and the work he did to shape the Church to what it is today. Hedlund’s book broadened my eyes to the persecution Christians faced in the 1400 & 1500’s, and made me reflect upon the persecution the Church faces even to this day. It also made me reflect on the freedom I possess as a God-fearing woman in modern day America, where I am able to serve God in any fashion, form, or manner that I choose. It also made me wonder how deftly I am using my freedom in Christ to impact the kingdom of God. Thoughts to ponder…

There was so many well-crafted details in this book! Jody writes with such finesse that I felt like I was watching this story play out right in front of my eyes. I could feel the growing love between Luther and Katharina; their witty banter kept me giggling, and the mishaps placed strategically throughout the plot made me cringe. I would like to mention that this work might not be suitable for young readers due to some of the violent and sexual descriptions. While nothing in Luther And Katharina is explicitly untoward, the novel might be too intense in some scenes as Jody did an excellent job in describing the violent acts against the reformants.

I would highly recommend Luther And Katharina to anyone looking for an exciting and intense historical romance novel. This happens to be the first book I’ve read by Jody Hedlund and I have quickly moved her to being one of my favorite authors after this novel.  I can’t wait to get my hands on some of her other books!

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

