Low Carb Philly Cheesesteak

It feels like forever since I was last cooking in the kitchen!

Mostly because the past few months have been an upheaval in my life, but thankfully that is calming down! I was offered a job a few months ago at a local university (YAY!) and just recently moved into my own place (also YAY!).

One of the first things I put up in my apartment — my Christmas tree!! Isn’t it lovely?

IMG_7575.jpeg

I only moved into my place the weekend before Christmas, so I am boycotting taking down my Christmas decorations right now, and yes, they are still up in my home. I may leave them up for the entirety of January. It makes me so happy to come home and turn on twinkling lights. I love Christmas!!

Moving into my own place means I can unpack my kitchen items *praise hands*  Which means, yes dear readers — it means more recipes!! I know, that is super exciting news! Speaking of which, here is a new one I’ve seen posted all over the internet, with my own little spin on the concoction. Hope you enjoy!

IMG_1440-1.JPG

1 package of Steak-Umm Sliced Steaks (in the freezer section), 3-5 sections
1 package of Swiss Cheese
1-2 Onion, sliced
1-2 Bell Peppers, sliced (any colors)
1 TBSP Italian Seasoning
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp Crushed Red Pepper
Cooking Spray
Salt & Pepper to taste

IMG_1441.JPG    IMG_1442.JPG

Slice up the onion and bell peppers. Spray a skilled with cooking spray and toss the sliced onions and bell peppers into the skillet.

IMG_1443.JPG

Add the Italian Seasoning, Garlic Powder, and Crushed Red Peppers to the vegetables and stir.  Sauté the veggies until the yellows become somewhat translucent.

IMG_1444-2.JPG   IMG_1446-1.JPG

Add 3-5 slices of the Steak-Umm Sliced Steaks to the skillet. Season with salt and pepper.  Continue to sauté the pan until the meat has browned and crumbled.

IMG_1448-1.JPG
Once the meat is brown and the veggies are thoroughly cooked, place slices of Swiss Cheese over the meat and veggie mixture.  Cover the skillet with a lid and let this cook until the cheese has melted.

IMG_1452.JPG

Turn off the heat and serve!

If you’re doing the Trim Healthy Mama plan, this is an S-meal.

Leave a Reply

