Honey Garlic Chicken

Happy Monday, dear friends!

How was your weekend? Was it sunny and warm like mine? I can’t believe these spring temps we are having in NC right now – 60 & 70s all weekend! I threw open all of my windows and screened doors and had the most wonderful cross-breeze blowing through my home.  Then, on Sunday, a steady rain beat down and the smell – oh the wonderful smell of rain and spring – it transported me back in time to my childhood in Seattle.

Of traipsing through the woods behind my Opa’s house.

Dashing from rock to rock as I crossed the bubbling creek.

Running wild in the fields that lay just on the other side of the street.

The heavy scent of moss clinging to everything.

Trying to catch the squirrels eating from Opa’s birdfeeders.

I felt like I was walking through his home again…It’s amazing how smell can play such a major role in our memories.  Do you have any smells that transport you back in time or remind you of pleasant memories?

IMG_2084

One pleasant memory for me was this Honey Garlic Chicken I made over the weekend. It is super easy to make (yay crock pot!!) and the flavor is oh.my.WOW!! It was amazing. I seriously can’t wait for you all to try this recipe out for yourselves!

When I first read this recipe over at DietHood, I was a little skeptical when I saw ketchup listed in the ingredients. Isn’t ketchup usually used in meatloaf recipes?! But I went ahead and swallowed my doubt and I’m so glad I did! The sauce is well-balanced and not overly sweet or powering.  The chicken practically fell apart when I cut into it and it paired perfectly with the quinoa and Asian coleslaw that I served alongside of it. In fact, the leftovers are what I’m eating for lunch today! 🙂 I will definitely be adding this to my list of go-to meals. I hope you love it as much as I do!

 

IMG_2077

2-3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 cup honey
½ cup ketchup
½ cup soy sauce
½ teaspoon dried oregano
2 tablespoons parsley
½ tablespoon sesame seeds (optional)

IMG_2078

Remove any excess fat from the chicken breasts, rinse well, and place the meat in the bottom of the crock pot.

IMG_2079

IMG_2080

In a small mixing bowl, mix together the garlic, honey, ketchup, soy sauce, oregano, and parsley.

IMG_2081

Pour the sauce over the chicken breasts in the crock pot.

IMG_2082

Cover and cook for 3-5 hours on High, or 6-7 hours on Low (my crockpot was done in 3.5 hours on high heat).

IMG_2083

When serving, spoon the sauce over the chicken and sprinkle the sesame seeds on top.

Enjoy!

IMG_2076

 

Leave a Reply

