Book Review: The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter

240_360_book-1830-cover

The Goodbye Bride
Written by: Denise Hunter
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Month, Year: March, 2016

A brief summary from Denise Hunter:

Following a concussion, Lucy Lovett can’t remember the last seven months of her life. She doesn’t remember leaving her fiance Zac Callahan weeks before their wedding or moving to Portland, Maine. And she sure doesn’t remember getting engaged to another man. All she remembers is loving Zac more than life itself.


It’s taken Zac months to move on after Lucy left him with no explanation. He’s thrown himself into his family’s farm and his restaurant business in Summer Harbor. Now Lucy’s back, vulnerable, homeless, and still in love with him. She needs his help putting the pieces together, but letting her back into his life is a risk—and the stakes are high. If he follows his heart he’ll win back the love of his life. But if her memory returns he’ll lose her all over again.

My Thoughts:
Have you ever looked at a book cover and just knew in your heart that the book was going to be a good one? The without-a-doubt, one hundred percent feeling that the book held in your hands was going to sweep you off your feet and you would be hard-pressed to put it down until you’d devoured it from cover to cover?

That’s how I felt.

Yesterday.

The book? Denise Hunter’s The Goodbye Bride releasing March 8, 2016. Book #2 in the Summer Harbor series.

The gorgeous cover beckoned me to open its pages and all too soon my lunch break was over and I found myself wishing the day was over so I could continue reading.  In fact, as soon as I got home last night, I tore into the story and didn’t stop until I reached the last page. Ya’ll – this book is too GOOD!! I’m already ready for a re-read!

In this unforgettable tale (ironic pun intended – you’ll see why), we meet Lucy Lovett, who just so happens to be face-down on the ground with a concussion to boot. Thanks to this head injury, she can’t remember the past 7 months of her life, and oh yea, she’s running from her 2nd wedding, only she can’t remember guy #2 and calls up finance #1, Zac Callahan, to come to her rescue. The emotions between Zac and Lucy are so tangible: the anger, hurt, vulnerability. The sacrifice of one’s self to help someone who deeply hurt you, the emotional drainage, the resurfacing of un-wanted feelings. The plot is set in such a fashion that your heart will be pounding one moment and then swooning the next – at least that’s what happened to me, and I’m pretty sure I’m in love with a fictional hero now. Move over Mr. Darcy, Zac Callahan has taken the lead!

The Goodbye Bride has all the intrigue needed to keep those pages turning. Why is Lucy running from her second wedding and who’s the guy? Will Zac help her or send her packing? You might even find yourself squealing out loud “Just kiss her already! Gah!!” …which I may have done quite often yesterday.

Maybe.

Ok, I definitely did!

More exciting news – in addition to The Goodbye Bride releasing in 12 days (yay!!) – is that Book #3 releases in September 2016! Just a Kiss will tell the story of Riley Callahan, Zac’s younger brother, who is a wounded war hero returning from his Afghanistan tour. After the amazingness that is The Goodbye Bride I’m bouncing in anticipation for Just a Kiss!!

Now, if you like romance, intrigue, and clumsy antics than I highly suggest ya’ll go pick up a copy for yourself! I hear you can even pre-order the book online for e-readers for only $4.99. I’m tempted to do that myself even though I have a paperback version! You can even read the first 3 chapters of the book here!

If you do read this book, please tell me! I’d love to chat with you about this adorable novel!

Happy Reading!

I was graciously provided a free hard-copy of this novel from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

