Chicken Chili

IMG_2179

A man sees in the world what he carries in his heart.
– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 I want to see the beauty.

To delight in the creation.

To delight in the Creator.

I want to be enchanted with His goodness.

His mercy.

His forgiveness.

I want to see the world through eyes of love.

Through the beauty of grace.

Through the rising hope that things will be made new.

I want.

I want.

I want.

I want what Jesus wants of me.

 

IMG_2115

*2-3 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
*1 sweet onion, diced
*2-3 teaspoons of garlic powder
*2 tablespoons chili powder
*1 tablespoon dried oregano
*2 teaspoons paprika
*1/4 teaspoon allspice
*1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
*2 bay leafs
*6oz can of sugar free tomato paste
*4 cups chicken broth
*1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
*1 large bunch broccoli rabe, ends trimmed/roughly chopped
*2 red peppers, sliced
*15 oz can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
*3 tablespoons dried parsley
*salt and pepper to taste

IMG_2096

Spray the insides of a crockpot with cooking oil and add the chicken breasts and diced onion.

IMG_2116

Sprinkle the garlic powder, chili powder, dried oregano, paprika, allspice, red pepper flakes, bay leaves, salt and pepper over the chicken.

IMG_2180

Pour in the chicken broth, balsamic vinegar, and tomato paste. Stir well.

IMG_2117

Cover and cook on low heat for 3-4 hours or high heat 4-8 hours.

IMG_2118

30 minutes prior to serving, add the broccoli rabe, red peppers, and cannellini beans to the crockpot. Stir well. Cover and cook on high heat for 30 more minutes.

IMG_2183

Ladle the chili into bowls and enjoy!

This hearty chili lasted me about 6 meals (yay for work lunches!!). I had never cooked with broccoli rabe before this recipe, but I am going to have to incorporate this into my meals more often! I am also not a huge fan of beans, but I found the cannellini beans surprisingly tasty and filling. Next time they are on sale at the grocery store, I am going to stock up!

If you are doing THM, I believe this would be an E-meal.

This chili could easily become a vegetarian chili by omitting the chicken and using water in place of the chicken broth.

I adapted this recipe from the folks at Half Baked Harvest. The original recipe, Crockpot Italian Chicken and Broccoli Rabe Chili, can be found here.

Leave a Reply

