Steps Abound

Whewwww! Is it truly Monday already? It feels like I just left the office on 4pm on Friday. Are we sure the weekend flew by that quickly and is already over? I need to talk to someone about this. Surely being off 5 days a week and only working 2 days would be much more effective…and appreciated!! Well, at least I would appreciate it! 🙂

My co-workers and I are participating in a NC government-wide walking challenge. The goal is for each person to walk 10,000 steps a day, or 5 miles. Do you know how hard it is to walk 5 miles a day?! I’m lucky to get in 3,500 doing my normal day-to-day activities…but 10,000! Oy!

We just calculated our miles for weeks 1 & 2 and I am proud to say that I walked a total of 45 miles the past two weeks. FORTY-FIVE MILES!! I can’t believe it!! I am a self-proclaimed lazy enthusiast! My activities consist of reading, Netflix-ing, and Pinterest-ing – all of which have me sitting my bum on the couch for long periods of time. I can’t believe I walked enough for 45 miles! Now I have a new goal – to beat 45 miles over the course of the next two weeks. I think I can do it!!

In order to get more steps and movement in during my days, I’ve changed the way I work.  The company I work for was super amazing and bought me a stand-up desk when I first started in December, and while I’ve been standing pretty frequently each week, I’ve now began adding deskercises (desk + exercises) while standing.  Some of my favorites are:

  • Walking in place – I try to keep the beat of whatever song I’m listening to
  • Hamstring curls/butt kicks – kick your leg out behind you, bending at the knee, and try to kick your rear
  • Heel taps –  starting with your left foot, kick the foot out in front of you, touch the heel to the floor, and then swing the foot back to starting position. Do the same thing with the right foot and alternate between the two as many times as you want
  • Side Step – with your right foot, step to the right, plant that foot and then bring your left foot in to tap the space next to your right foot. Once you tap, step to the left and bring your right foot to tap the space next to your left foot.

Ya’ll, I’ve even gone so far as to tape (yes, TAPE) my Fitbit tracker to my ankle, so that it reads my steps as I walk in place and do these deskercises! It doesn’t get any more crazy than that! 😀

How do you sneak in steps throughout your day? I’d love to hear what you’re doing to get those steps in and become more active! Happy Walking!

Leave a Reply

