Book Review: The Bee-Friendly Garden

bee

The Bee-Friendly Garden
Written by: Kate Frey + Gretchen LeBuhn
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
Month, Year: February, 2016

A brief summary from Penguin Random House:

Hello Friends!

Do I have any gung-ho gardeners around?  Any wanna-BEE gardeners?  🙂 Pun intended! I’m totally a wanna-BEE gardener. In fact, I’m so much of a wanna-BEE gardener that a good friend of mine and I stormed the gardens of Lowe’s a few weeks ago and pretty much bought everything we saw. And I mean everything. See?  This is our cart that we overloaded with pretty flowers, plants, pots, feeders, hangers, and dirt.  I’m actually amazed we were able to fit it all into my car.

IMG_2353

If only I had known about The Bee-Friendly Garden before we went shopping! I would have been more intentional about what I was choosing. But, still, I think I made some good choices with the flowers I chose – daisies and wildflowers. ❤

IMG_2348

When I read the description for The Bee-Friendly Garden on realized this book was full of ideas on gardening with the purpose of helping bees, well, I was sold. Over the past few decades the honeybee population has been in decline (found here, here, and here).  Activists and grocers alike have been trying to get the word out on what will happen if the honeybees die off, or even worse, go extinct. In fact, Whole Foods did a whole media awareness campaign a few years ago where they showed two pictures side by side. The first photo shows all of our produce options we currently have available – thank you bees!! Just look at that variety and mix of colors!  The second photo snapshots what our produce options will be without honeybees around to pollinate.  Scary right?!

bee1

bee2

The Bee-Friendly Garden has tons of informative tips and ideas to get your own garden up and running. The authors, Kate + Gretchen, give suggestions for growing a bee garden in different climates and sections of the USA based on where you are located.  They even list plants to avoid, which is something I never even thought about. Also, the photographs are STUNNING!! The photos alone make me want to take a few days off work and plant gardens. Everywhere. GARDENS FOR EVERYBODY!! 🙂

This book is great for both novices and expert gardeners and is sure to be a conversational piece with family and friends. The Bee-Friendly Garden has definitely given me ideas for a garden for next spring! I can’t wait to help the bees!

I was graciously provided a free hard-copy of this novel from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Maemi says:

    I’ve come across a lot of posts on the honeybee population decline but not much is being done to actually stop it. So happy that you’re taking a step. Will be spending more time in the garden ❤ to make it more bee-friendly. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

