Enchilada Sauce

Do you find yourself craving amazing Mexican food?

And no, I’m not talking the fast-food kind.

I’m talking the authentic kind. The can I have seconds and thirds kind. The where’s the recipe and can I please have 5 take-home boxes stuffed full of this to go kind.

Yea, you know- THAT kind. 🙂

I’ve never in my life made enchilada sauce before. I usually buy whatever canned version I find sitting on the grocery shelves – seemed a whole lot easier and less stressful than having to make it myself. Right?!

I was wrong. So, so wrong.

Now I’m wondering why I ever did that when this recipe is so EASY to make!! It takes less than 5 minutes to mix this all together, and another 15-20 on simmer. And while it was simmering, I was prepping for the rest of the meal I was making – Stacked Enchiladas (recipe coming soon!).

IMG_2789

*2 Tbsp Vegetable oil
*2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
*2- 4 Tbsp chili powder
*1/2 tsp. garlic powder
*1/2 tsp salt
*1/4 tsp cumin
*1/4 tsp oregano
*2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

In a small saucepan, heat the oil over medium-high heat.

Add the flour and 1/4 cup of chicken stock to the saucepan. Whisk until all the flour has dissolved.

IMG_2790

Mix in the chili powder (2-4 Tbsp depending on your taste preferences), garlic powder, salt, cumin, and oregano.  Pour the remaining 1 3/4 cup of chicken stock into the saucepan. Whisk constantly for about a minute to remove lumps.

IMG_2792

Reduce heat and simmer 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the sauce thickens.

Immediately use or refrigerate in an air-tight container for up to two weeks.

IMG_2794

Baker’s Notes:
When I made this sauce, I went all out and put in the 4 tbsps of chili powder right away. Talk about woahhh spiceville! I think next time I make this I’ll lower the amount of chili powder to 2.5-3 tbsps, due to the spiciness. My palate and mouth aren’t very happy with spicy goodness, even though I try time and again to convince them its delicious! I think I’d also like to try this with real chiles, oregano, garlic, and perhaps even a small amount of onions…hmmmmm…just thinking out loud over here 🙂

If you’d like to see the original recipe, head on over to Gimme Some Oven and check it out!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth Erin says:

    I have been making my own taco seasoning and we love it! I will definitely be trying my hand at this enchilada sauce! Thanks, Kella!

    Like

  2. I made this tonight! It was really good. I left out the oregano, because we didn’t have any, and only put about 1 1/2 Tbsp of chili powder. It was just about perfect for us. I used corn tortillas with a mixture of chicken, black beans and cream cheese blended with a little of the sauce. 5 star recipe. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

