Green Chili Chicken Casserole

This Green Chili Chicken Casserole knocked my socks off, y’all.

It is sooooo stinking wonderful!

I’m not even a cauliflower fan, but I gladly devoured a plateful in like 2 minutes. Ok, so I didn’t inhale it that quickly but I’m pretty sure I came close!

You need to make this recipe! ASAP!! RIGHT NOW!! Or tomorrow. Yea, tomorrow will work.

And when you do make it, because I’m realllllly hoping you will, stop by and let me know how much you absolutely loved it!!  Because I’m pretty sure you’re going to love it as much as I do. 🙂

1

*12oz bag of frozen cauliflower
*4oz  1/3rd less fat cream cheese
*2 – 3 cups cooked chicken, chopped (I used frozen grilled chicken strips)
*3/4 cup salsa verde
*1/2 – 3/4 tsp himalayan pink salt
*1 tsp ground black pepper
*1/4 cup low fat sour cream
*1/2 – 1 cup low-fat shredded mozzarella cheese
*1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

2

In a microwave safe bowl, cook the cauliflower for 10 minutes, or until tender when poking with a fork.

3      4

Add the cream cheese to the bowl and then microwave for 30 seconds longer. Stir and mix well.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

If using frozen chicken, microwave as you normally would in order to thaw. Once cooked, chop the meat and add to the cauliflower bowl.

5

Add to the bowl the salsa verde, salt, pepper, sour cream, mozzarella cheese, and parmesan cheese. Stir well.

6

Pour the mixture into a casserole dish – or in my case, a pie pan, the only thing I had left that was still clean!  Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until the top begins to turn golden brown.

7

Baker’s Notes:
At the very last minute, I decided to switch cheeses. Call it a whim but I’m really glad I did! 🙂 In the ingredient photo I was originally going to use cheddar cheese, but by the time I got around to adding the cheeses, mozzarella and parmesan sounded soon much better!! And I was right because this tasted amazinggggggg!! Oooey, gooey, and all things wonderfully cheesy. 🙂

After devouring a plateful, I’m thinking of increasing the salsa verde to 1 cup next time I cook this meal. I really enjoyed the spicy + sweet flavors the salsa verde brought out in this dish and found myself wanting more.

I think the whole thing took me 45 minutes to make, and most of that was in the microwave or oven, which left me plenty of time for Netflix. 🙂 I was able to get 3 meals out of this recipe, I highly recommend doubling this if you are cooking for 3+ people.

8

I also love this meal because its great if you’re doing THM. All this cheese makes this dish a sound S-meal. I was worried about the salsa verde when I initially found the recipe, thinking it would be too time consuming and pricey to make myself, or full of un-needed ingredients if I bought it pre-made.  Thank goodness for Kroger!! The salsa verde I found was all natural and had no sugar in it (YAY) and Kroger currently has it on sale for $2. They’re also having a sale on the Kroger brand of frozen cauliflower, so I picked up 3 bags for $5 (or 36 oz for $5). Awesome deals!

I adapted this recipe from I Breathe, I’m Hungry. If you’d like to view the original recipe, click here.

Happy Cooking!

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

