Anchor in the Storm + Giveaway

9780800723439

Anchor in the Storm
Written by: Sarah Sundin
Publisher: Revell
Month, Year: May, 2016

A brief summary from Revell:
In a time of sacrifice, what price can one put on true love?

Nothing slows Lillian Avery down–not her personal challenges and certainly not America’s entry into World War II. She finally has a chance to prove herself as a pharmacist in Boston. The demands of her new job energize her. But society boy Ensign Archer Vandenberg’s attentions only annoy–even if he is her brother’s best friend.

During the darkest days of the war, Arch’s destroyer hunts German U-boats in vain as the submarines sink dozens of merchant ships along the East Coast. Still shaken by battles at sea, Arch notices his men also struggle with their nerves–and with drowsiness. Could there be a link to the large prescriptions Lillian has been filling? 

As the danger rises on both land and sea, the two must work together to answer that question. But can Arch ever earn Lillian’s trust and affection?

My Thoughts:
Oh.my.goodness.

Ya’ll. I just can’t..oh my goodness…I just can’t get over how much I LOVED Anchor in the Storm!

This is my very first read of Sarah Sundin’s works and I’ve now got a new favorite author!! In fact, I’m not sure I can wait till Spring 2017 for the 3rd installment in the Waves of Freedom series. Sarah, are you absolutely positively 100% sure you can’t sneak the third book out..oh I don’t know…tomorrow?! 🙂 I suppose that’d be really getting ahead of myself since I haven’t had the pleasure of reading book #1 in the series, Through Waters Deep (which has most definitely been added to my list of must-reads), but I really can’t wait that long to know what happens next!!

Sigh. I think authors somehow know God & I are working on my patience skills – which is a department I am completely lacking – because they keep writing amazing novels and I have to wait forevverrrrr for the sequels! I mean this book arrived in the mail yesterday and I’ve already devoured it front to back, cover to cover. I couldn’t help myself!!

Ok, enough fan-girling. I need to tell you about this novel!

Lillian Avery, a plucky female pharmacist fresh out of college with tons of charisma, a niche for sales, and newly found detective skills, is one smart woman with a mission: to find herself a job. Not just any job, but one utilizing her newly accrued pharmaceutical degree. If being a female with a college degree wasn’t enough to make her stand-out in the crowd and have folks snub their noses up at her – this is the 1940’s after all – her wooden leg sure will.  When her older brother lands her the job of a lifetime, Lillian excitedly moves to Boston to begin her new career, if only her brother’s best friend, the insulting and way too handsome for his own good, Archer Vandenberg, would stop flirting with her!

Archer knew he made a huge fool out of himself when he stared 5 seconds too long at Lillian’s wooden leg. Blame it on combat fatigue or the lack of interacting with females after being on a Naval ship for too long – whatever it was, he created an enemy when he should have welcomed an ally.  Now, every chance Arch gets, he tries to flirt his way onto Lillian’s good graces, but she’s not having any of it! To make matters worse, his crew has begun to act a little strange – always sleepy and out of sorts.  When he discovers drugs may be the cause of his crew’s antics, he turns to Lillian for help and soon these two amateur sleuths are on their way to figuring out who is supplying his crew with copious amounts of pills.

Sarah Sundin’s Anchor in the Storm is hilarious, full of mystery, and a page-turner. I seriously could not put the book down! The characters were so incredibly well-developed, and World War II and the growing feminist movement create the perfect backdrop for this plot.

Anchor in the Storm releases on May 3 – less than a week away!! You can pre-order this awesome novel via Amazon, B+N, CBD, or LifeWay. Or, you can be like me and drop by your local bookstore on May 3 and pick-up a copy the day of release. I love doing that because it means I get to browse through all of the books and see what needs to be added to my to-read list! 🙂

The fantastical Goodreads is hosting a giveaway for 5 copies of this delicious novel!! Sign up here: Anchor in the Storm Giveaway  But hurry!! Because the giveaway ends on May 3!

I was graciously provided a free hard-copy of this novel from Revell in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I haven’t read anything by Sarah Sundin yet, but she’s definitely on my to read list. I may need to bump them up a few spots and get to them sooner. I’ve heard several recommendations now.

    Like

    1. Baker Kella says:

      The book was soooooo good!! I’m trying to think who Sarah Sundin would write similarly to but I’m coming up blank. Her writing style is really refreshing. I just super loved this book!! ❤

      Like

  2. Beth Erin says:

    I just got this book in the mail! So excited to read it! I love Sarah Sundin!

    Like

  3. Sarah Sundin says:

    Thank you so much! What a wonderful review. I’m so glad you enjoyed Arch & Lillian’s story. Plus, I think this is the first official blog interview for the book, so it was extra-fun 🙂

    Like

  4. carylkane says:

    I LOVE Sarah’s books. I am currently reading through Wings of the Nightingale series. Thank you for the wonderful review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

