Her One & Only

26974629

Her One & Only
Written by: Becky Wade
Publisher: Bethany House
Month, Year: May, 2016

A brief summary from Becky Wade:
After ten years in the NFL, super star Gray Fowler is accustomed to obsessive fans. But when Gray starts receiving death threats from a stalker, his team hires an executive protection agency to guard him until the culprit is caught. Dealing with bodyguards 24/7 is a headache, especially when one of them is a young, beautiful woman. How can a female half his size possibly protect him better than he can protect himself?

Dru Porter is a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt–none of which saved her from disaster on her last assignment. In order to rebuild her tarnished reputation, she’s determined to find Gray’s stalker and, since relationships between agents and clients are forbidden, avoid a romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past.

Yet every secret that leads Dru closer to the stalker also draws her closer to Gray. As the danger escalates, they’ll survive only if they can learn to trust their lives — and their hearts — to one another.

My Thoughts:
I love Dru Porter.

In fact, I want to be her when I grow up. Never mind that I’m 28, a full-fledged adult by most people’s standards – forget, forget it, it’s forgotten.

Dru is my new fictional hero. A modern day Superwoman with the skills of an ex-Marine, expert marksmanship, and she’s basically a ninja, which is great since her job is to protect people and it’s kinda sorta hard to protect people if you don’t possess ninja skills. I am so not a ninja. Gotta work on that.

When Dru is assigned to protect Gray Fowler, a star NFL tight end, she quickly realizes her job isn’t going to be all peaches-n-cream pie.  Especially when a stalker begins to grow increasingly more dangerous in their attempts to hurt Gray. Okay okay, not hurt Gray…more like end him. For good. Hmmm…maybe I don’t want Dru’s job…I quite like not having people trying to off me or the folks I’m with. Although, I wouldn’t mind working with NFL football players…this is gonna be a tough decision for my life goals!

The fact that Gray is so not worried about the stalker absolutely flabbergasted me. I get that he’s this ginormous macho man, but still, I kept yelling at him “get over yourself bro! You need her help!” I love that Dru doesn’t back down when Gray gets in her face during their many disagreements. She has all the confidence in the world and the backbone to hold it up. Note: Get more confidence. And work on my backbone…hmmm…I wonder if pilates would strengthen my backbone…or perhaps yoga…

Even as the fourth and final book in the Porter Series, Her One and Only makes for a fantastic stand-alone read. Pick up a copy for yourself and I pretty much guarantee you won’t be disappointed. I mean, what could be bad about a pint-sized ninja warrior woman protecting a NFL football player from being assassinated? Nothing.…unless you count the whole they may die in the next paragraph scenario…no biggie!

I was graciously provided a free hard-copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishers and a free e-book copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

Leave a Reply

