Hearty Skirt Steak

Happy Friday, Friends!!

Does anyone else feel like this has been a super long week? I realize that Monday was a holiday (YAY for days off work!), but mannnnn does it feel like I packed 7 days into 4! I am so ready for the weekend!!

I don’t know about you, but when I’m tired I have no desire to cook. Drive-thru Kella comes out and it’s not pretty. *shudders* But, I have an alternative – a simple, one pan meal that I love to make after a long, hard day. I probably make this meal twice a month and it makes about 4 meals. The leftovers are great for work lunches!

Meet my Hearty Skirt Steak! 6 simple ingredients packing a lot of simplistic flavor!

IMG_2614

*1-2 lb of skirt steak
*30 oz of canned green beans
*30 oz of canned new potatoes, sliced
*28 oz of canned Stewed Tomatoes
*Salt
*Pepper

Remove any excess fat (if any) from the skirt steak. Sprinkle salt and pepper over both sides of the steak.

IMG_2616     IMG_2618

In a skillet, add a splash of water OR a pat of butter, and brown the steak over medium heat 1-2 minutes per side.

FullSizeRender (3)

Remove the steak from the skillet and slice into strips or cubes (your choice).

FullSizeRender (4)

Place the steak back into the skillet and add in the cans of stewed tomatoes, green beans, and sliced new potatoes. *I used whole new potatoes and sliced them myself; saved me a few cents at the grocery store*

Place a lid over the skillet and let the meat and veggies cook down about 10-20 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender. Be sure to stir every few minutes to prevent the mixture from sticking to the skillet.

Once the potatoes are tender, remove from heat and serve. Add additional salt & pepper if needed.

Enjoy this deliciously simple meal!

Baker’s Notes:
I try to pick-up canned goods that have No Added Salt and are sugar-free, which is sometimes hard to find. Walmart is basically my BFF because they’re cheaper than most grocery stores near me AND they tend to offer products that are both sugar-free and no added salt. Win-win for me!

If you hate the idea of using canned vegetables, swap out the cans for fresh green beans and new potatoes!

For all my THM-ers, I realize potatoes are not on plan; replace the new potatoes with radishes! I haven’t tried this yet myself, but I plan to the next time I made it. My mouth is already watering in anticipation! haha 🙂  Just make sure to slice the radishes so they cook faster. I believe this would be an S-meal, due to the amount of fat in the steak. A HUGE thank you to all the THM ladies who helped me figure out what category this meal would be in!! I would have totally labeled it incorrectly without you.

Leave a Reply

