Delilah: Treacherous Beauty

27066703

Delilah: Treacherous Beauty
Written by: Angela Hunt
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Month, Year: June, 2016

A brief summary from Bethany House Publishers:
A Complex and Compelling Glimpse at One of the Bible’s Most Notorious Women

Life is not easy in Philistia, especially not for a woman and child alone. When beautiful, wounded Delilah finds herself begging for food to survive, she resolves that she will find a way to defeat all the men who have taken advantage of her. She will overcome the roadblocks life has set before her, and she will find riches and victory for herself.

When she meets a legendary man called Samson, she senses that in him lies the means for her victory. By winning, seducing, and betraying the hero of the Hebrews, she will attain a position of national prominence. After all, she is beautiful, she is charming, and she is smart. No man, not even a supernaturally gifted strongman, can best her in a war of wits.

My Thoughts:
Sampson + Delilah.

The Strongman + the Beauty.

A wild, torturous, hauntingly beautiful story of God’s love and redemption.

Ever since I was a wee little girl, I’ve been fascinated with the story of Sampson and Delilah. Sampson, the larger than life hero – I wanted to hear more of his escapades and adventures! Not so much Delilah though. She was the villain, and as a child I didn’t care much for villains. She ranked right up there with Scar and Cruella de Vil – characters I couldn’t stand and whom I wish had never been written into the story altogether. So when I saw Angela Hunt’s Delilah release, I was super curious how her story would turn out. How in the world would Angela Hunt spin the disastrous betrayal of Delilah in a way that would compel the reader to not hate her? To not view her as a most vile human being? Would it even be possible?

It was. Oh my dear book lovers, Angela told a tale so powerful that I actually find myself sorry for Delilah. Sorry for her hardships. Sorry for her misery and pain. Sorry for the intense suffering she must have gone through to make her betray her lover in such a manner that she did to Sampson.  Delilah humanizes the woman. Delilah brings reasoning and depth into her actions. Delilah reminds us that nothing is beyond God’s redemption.

This fictionalized account of Delilah has me re-thinking my view on her. I suppose everyone rationalizes that what they are doing is the right thing to do and Delilah was no exception.

I have been a huge fan of Angela Hunt’s works for many years and would highly recommend any of them, including this amazing story of Delilah.

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

Leave a Reply

