The Widow of Larkspur Inn

1123434

The Widow of Larkspur Inn
Written by: Lawana Blackwell
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Month, Year: February, 1998

A brief summary from Bethany House Publishers:
When Life Seemed Its Worst, Gresham Awaited

Julia Hollis’ opulent life in Victorian London crashes to pieces when her husband passes away. Worse, she is told by his bankers that he gambled away their fortune. Now, the family’s hope rests on The Larkspur, an old abandoned coaching inn in the quaint village of Gresham.

Driven by dread and her desire to provide for her children, Julia decides to turn the dilapidated inn into a lodging house. But can she–who was accustomed to servants attending to every need–do what needs to be done and cope when boarders begin arriving? And then an eligible new vicar moves into town…

My Thoughts:
I’m truly hesitant to admit this but The Widow of Larkspur Inn is not one my favorites by Lawana Blackwell. Which is sad because I had such high hopes for this book! Especially since it’s the first in the Gresham Chronicles series. Perhaps my dislike stems from reading the Gresham Chronicles out of order, but overall this was not great read in my opinion.

Lawana Blackwell is a gifted writer and her works are intricately detailed but I found The Widow of Larkspur Inn to move quite slowly and the parts about the son, Philip, bored me to pieces.  I kept waiting for something exciting to happen – having to solve some mystery relating to the local ghost, struggling to acclimate themselves in a new town, or a debacle with Squire Bartley over who actually owns the land – anything to breathe life into this novel! Instead, the most exciting thing to happen was a new vicar moved into town and he roughed up one of the local drunkards. Kind of ho-hum and to be very frank, I was hard-pressed to read the whole thing from cover to cover. I did read it thoroughly, but the lack of intrigue, character depth, and stimulation made this a very dry read.

This review is of my own accord and I did not receive anything in return for posting my opinions of the book.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I LOVE this book!!!! You’re crazy! ;P

    Like

Leave a Reply

