Within the Veil + Giveaway!

IMG_3502

Within the Veil
Written by: Brandy Vallance
Publisher: Lyrical Vine Press
Month, Year: June 28, 2016

A brief summary from Brandy Vallance:
Feya Broon, a Scottish half-gypsy, knows what it is to be hungry. Barely able to survive in the Edinburgh tenements, she and her three young siblings are starving. Between her gypsy father’s belief that their blood is cursed, and the faith her mother tried to instill fading, she resorts to the only thing she has left in order to get food for the bairns. But when her last hope brings a chance encounter, she is thrust upon a path to Holyrood Palace and the only man who may be able to change her fate—Alasdair Cairncross, an English Royal Horse Guard with long-buried secrets.

Alasdair has meticulously planned his life, but he never accounted that he’d be forced to transport a thieving gypsy woman halfway across the wilds of Scotland. With his fiancée’s imminent arrival and his father’s greatest political goal within reach, the timing is disastrous. The journey threatens to consume everything he holds dear, and an encounter with superstition in an ancient village exhumes more than memories. As the gypsy’s prejudice begins to crumble and Alasdair’s sense of duty wanes, both must learn how to survive a decades-old feud, a Highland kidnapping, and the awakening of their own hearts.

My Thoughts:
I about cried as I turned the last page of Brandy Vallance’s newly released novel, Within the Veil. And I am so not a crier! This incredibly tender story is absolutely stunning – from cover to cover and every ink stained, heartfelt, adventurous page in-between. Within the Veil’s raw, organic beauty will move you in the depth of your soul. It is an absolute MUST READ!!

Feya Broon is a spirited, lively Scottish half-gypsy woman who stands out amidst the lackluster Edinburgh tenements. After a desperate attempt to steal from royalty in order to feed her family, Feya is captured by the palace guard on duty, Alasdair Cairncross, who must transport her across the wilderness of Scotland for trial. Two people have never been more opposite! While Feya is free-spirited, beautiful, and saucy, Alasdair is haunted, rugged, and duty bound. These two butt heads more than once, creating magnificent conflict that will keep you turning the pages.

Within the Veil is a truly unique story with its focus on gypsies and the racism directed towards their people, Alasdair’s “mind problem” of seeing auras for everything around him, Feya’s struggle to come to terms with who she is as a biracial woman in a society who doesn’t accept anything less than those of pure genealogy. It is a mesmerizing tale that will take you on a journey through back alley slums littered with desperation, royal palaces filled with gold beyond imagination, and wild woods laced with anticipation. Within the Veil is without a doubt a must read and because I’m so enamored with this novel, I’m going to give a reader a copy of the book for free!! 🙂

Click on the cover for a chance to win:

IMG_3502

Within the Veil Giveaway is open to residents of USA only. Winner will be notified via email and must respond withing 48 hours to claim prize, otherwise a new winner will be chosen.

Another blogger, Relz Reviewz, is also hosting a giveaway for Within the Veil as well! Head on over to their site for a chance to win!

Brandy Vallance’s novel is available for purchase on Amazon, B&N, and wherever your favorite books are sold! 🙂

I was graciously provided a free e-copy of this novel from Brandy Vallance and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. This giveaway is in no way endorsed by Brandy Vallance, or the book’s publisher and is solely held at the discretion of the blog, Baker Kella.

27 Comments Add yours

  1. KayM says:

    I love your review. I think I would like to read Within the Veil. Thank you for offering a copy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. KayM says:

    Right now I am reading Michael Phillips’ Escape to Freedom, which is the third book in The Secret of the Rose series. His books require slow and thoughtful reading. After that I will read Melanie Dickerson’s The Golden Braid.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi KAYM! Thanks for entering the giveaway! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Baker Kella says:

      I haven’t read anything by Michael Phillips yet – I will have to check him out!

      I think you’ll LOVE The Golden Braid!! Its one of my favorites by Melanie! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie Jobe says:

    This just sounds like an incredible book! It is now one of the books I’m hoping to read this summer! I am also looking forward to reading the first three books of Dawn Crandall’s The Everstone Chronicles.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi Julie! Thanks for entering the giveaway! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Baker Kella says:

      I just finished reading The Everstone Chronicles and am about to do a re-read!! They’re so good!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Trixi says:

    I think what appeals to me the most is the forbidden love that should never have been! 🙂 Just from all the reviews I’ve read over the last few days, they’ve made me fall in love with this novel without even reading it yet!
    As for books this summer….oh I have a WHOLE list of books to read/review and I am anticipated every one of them! Dawn Crandall, Kellie Coates Gilbert, Kristi Anne Hunter, Varina Denman, etc….I have a full reading schedule awaiting me and I LOVE it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      hahaha you sound like me! My TBR list goes for miles!! 😀

      Like

  5. That makes my night, Trixi! Thanks for entering the giveaway. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Una Ireland says:

    This sounds like a good book to read. I will look forward to reading it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      It is absolutely fantastic!! I hope you add it to your reading list! 🙂

      Like

  7. Dawn Crandall says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading this one! ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      😀 I think you’re going to love it, Dawn!!

      Like

  8. I love the uniqueness of a gypsy heroine! 🙂 And in Scotland! Looking forward to reading this one.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      I adore Feya!! She is my first experience with anything gypsy (outside of The Hunchback) and I love her!! I hope you do as well. Good luck! 🙂

      Like

  9. I am looking forward to reading an Elegant Facade and now Within the Veil! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      I’m excited about An Elegant Facade as well!!

      Like

  10. carylkane says:

    I am so excited to read this one! Sounds like an incredible story. I’m also looking forward to reading Kristy Cambron’s The Ringmaster’s Wife. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      The Ringmaster’s Wife is on my reading list too! 🙂

      Like

  11. Trixi says:

    I just found out I WON a copy of this on another blog!!!!!!! So please take my name out so that others can have a chance at this beautiful book…thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Baker Kella says:

      Congrats Trixi!! That’s so exciting!! Thanks so much for letting me know that you won a copy elsewhere. I’d love to hear what you think about Within the Veil when you’re done reading 🙂

      Like

  12. Pam Graber says:

    I’ve always been fascinated by gypsies and their culture. This book sounds fantastic!

    Books I can’t wait to read this summer include: The Calling by Rachelle Dekker, The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher, Lead Me Home by Amy K. Sorrells, Missing by Lisa Harris, the Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson and The Rebel by Marta Perry. I have one of those “ever expanding” TBR bookcases!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Baker Kella says:

      Me too!! Thank goodness for Goodreads, otherwise I don’t know how I would keep up with my TBR list! haha

      Happy Reading!!

      Like

  13. Abby says:

    Can’t wait to read this! I love historical fiction! The gypsy aspect of it reminds of The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner (one of my faves!!) I also recommend Lisa Bergren’s River of Time Series if you like historical fiction 🙂 They are AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Baker Kella says:

      Ooooo new author alert!! I’ve not heard of Sally Gardner – she will be added to my TBR list. Thanks for the suggestion!!

      Lisa Bergren is amazzzing!! I love her novels! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

