Thanksgiving in Your Mouth (or, Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie)

I love holidays – especially Christmas and Thanksgiving! All the decorations, the holiday cheer, carols, and spending time with loved ones. It’s the best!!

I also love the food. THE FOOD!!! Oh my goodness – listen, Thanksgiving & Christmas have the best food of all the holidays. Granted, the summer holidays are great because they involve cook outs and fireworks…but nothing beats a turkey with all the sides or a slow-roasted Pot Roast with all the trimmings. Not to mention the desserts and ciders. PUH-LEASE tell me we’re almost to November!!

IMG_4055-2

*sigh* I know, I know….we’ve got some months to go yet. But, that’s okay! I have found a recipe, tweaked it just a tad, and its basically Thanksgiving in your mouth.

THANKSGIVING IN YOUR MOUTH, PEOPLE!!!!!!!

If this doesn’t tide me over till November, I don’t know what will!

Now, don’t get weirded out by these ingredients. I’ll admit, when I pulled the casserole dish from the oven, I grimaced. I shuddered as I took my first bite. I was extremely nervous as what I had just created. What if it tasted horrible?? What if I just wasted a quarter of my week’s groceries on this dish and hated it?? What if what if what if?!

But then, there was an explosion of flavors lighting up my tastebuds. And I was FLOORED!! Trust me – this dish is amazingly delicious!!! It truly is Thanksgiving in Your Mouth.

IMG_4028-2

*1 lb ground turkey, 93% lean
*2-3 sweet potatoes (I used 2)
*1-2 carrots, peeled and chopped (I used 1 carrot)
*1 can of peas or 1 bag of frozen peas
*1 medium onion, diced
*1/2 red bell pepper, diced
*1 can chicken broth
*1/2 cup Almond Milk, Unsweetened
*1 TBSP butter
*1-3 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
*1 TBSP Garlic Powder
*Salt
*Pepper
*Cooking spray

IMG_4041

In a large skillet, brown the ground turkey in some water (no more than 1 cup of water) over medium-high heat.

While the turkey is browning, use a fork to poke holes all over the sweet potatoes. Place the sweet potatoes in a microwavable container and microwave for 15 minutes. Once they are finished cooking, remove from microwave and slice in half.

After the turkey has finished cooking, drain off the water. Add the chicken broth to the skillet and heat to a boil. Sprinkle the red pepper flakes, garlic powder, salt, and pepper over the turkey and stir to incorporate well. Continue to stir frequently until most of the chicken broth has cooked down.

Spray a casserole dish with the cooking spray. Remove the turkey from heat and pour into the bottom of the casserole dish. Spread the meat evenly in the casserole dish and set the dish aside.

IMG_4042

In the same skillet, sauté the onion, red bell pepper, and carrots in a little bit of water until brown. Add in the peas and sauté for a few minutes longer. Once cooked, pour the veggies on top of the turkey in the casserole dish. Spread the mixture evenly over the meat.

Turn the oven to 375 degrees.

IMG_4043

Take each sweet potato half and scoop out the insides into a medium bowl. Mash the sweet potatoes to gain a smooth consistency. Add 1/2 cup almond milk and 1 TBSP butter and incorporate well.  Once the sweet potatoes are smooth and creamy, spread them evenly over the veggies in the casserole dish.

IMG_4053

Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are crispy on top.

ENJOY THANKSGIVING IN YOUR MOUTH!!! 😀

IMG_4054

Baker’s Notes:
I was able to get 4-5 huge servings out of this dish 🙂 I can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow!!

For all my THM-ers: this would be a delicious E-meal!!

I adapted this recipe from Delish’s Curried Sweet Potato Shpherd’s Pie. Check them out if you’d like to try your hand at the original!

Leave a Reply

