Honor Redeemed

27066854

Honor Redeemed
Written by: Christine Johnson
Publisher: Revell
Month, Year: July, 2016

A brief summary from Revell:
Her future–and her heart–hang in the balance.

Two years ago, Prosperity Jones waved farewell to her beloved David as the army sent him to faraway Key West. Now with her parents gone, she has but one prospect for the future: make the dangerous journey from Nantucket to Key West to reunite with David and secure a happier life.

But when Prosperity arrives penniless in the South, she is dismayed to find David has not been eagerly awaiting their reunion. In fact, he is married to someone else. Scrambling to survive and nursing a broken heart, Prosperity gains the friendship–and the affection–of a kind doctor. Could he be the answer to her loneliness? Or will her life be upended by circumstance yet again?

With a deft hand, Christine Johnson fills the senses with the sights, sounds, and smells of Key West in this heartwarming story of honor lost, honor redeemed, and a love forged in adversity.

My Thoughts:
Prosperity Jones sets out on a journey to follow her betrothed, David, to an army base in Key West. But upon arrival, she learns that he’s taken a wife and Prosperity is left to survive on her own. While I initially felt bad for Prosperity, having been duped by her finance and all, that sympathy soon turned to frustration. Prosperity is quick to dole out bitterness and harsh accusations at whim. She laments about David but doesn’t give him a chance to tell why he married someone else, and acts more like a spoiled child than a woman on the cusp of marriage.

I also really disliked the Doctor-Prosperity relationship that was strung throughout the novel as well. I found it disturbing on multiple levels and wish it hadn’t been written the way it did. The one relationship I did find encouraging in the entire book was Prosperity’s new found friendship with Elizabeth O’Malley, a kind-hearted woman who takes Prosperity in the first day she sets foot on Key West.

I’m sad to say this but Honor Redeemed was nothing like I thought it would be. I found the characters lacking depth and I really struggled to stay interested in the plot. In fact, I had to force myself to finish reading the book through to the end. I realize this novel has gotten a lot of high reviews from other Christian fiction lovers, but it was not the book for me.

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Revell in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

Leave a Reply

