Wild Montana Skies

28637713

Wild Montana Skies
Written by: Susan May Warren
Publisher: Revell
Month, Year: October 18, 2016

A brief summary from Susan May Warren:
The last thing Search and Rescue helicopter pilot Kacey Fairing needs upon returning home to Mercy Falls, Montana is to run into her mistakes.  After a devastating crash during her recent military tour in Afghanistan she emotionally broken but ready to start putting her life back together.  She just wants to reconnect with her teenage daughter and spend the summer working as the new lead pilot of PEAK Rescue in Glacier National Park.

But her mistakes aren’t so easily forgotten.  Because Ben King is also back in town.

Country music star Ben King abandoned his past when he moved to Nashville thirteen years ago to start his career.  He hoped to heal his broken heart, caused by losing the woman he loved. But when his father is injured, Ben is called home to help manage PEAK Rescue during his recovery. He doesn’t realize his father has ulterior motives until his old flame, Kacey, walks into his house and back into his heart.

Now, with Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben will have to work together to save lives. But when secrets are uncovered and old hurts rise to the surface, will they walk away again?  Or can they find a different ending to their country love song?

My Thoughts:
Be still my thundering heart.

That’s basically what you’re going to be telling yourself as you read Susan May Warren’s action-packed novel, Wild Montana Skies. Not even kidding you – I was fully unprepared for the intensity Warren takes her readers on in this search and rescue adventure novel. This book is epic!

A loving daughter and a fresh start is all Kacey Fairing needs in order to return home after touring in Afghanistan. To forget the deadly war-zone, leave behind the aching PTSD, and move on with her life. Kacey decides to get back to her roots and takes on a job in her hometown as the new helicopter pilot for the PEAK Rescue team. Perhaps, she can finally move on from her troubling past now that things are beginning to look up. But its tough to move on when the past shows up unexpectedly and refuses to head back to Nashville.

When Ben King’s country croons turn sour, he tucks tail and heads back to his hometown of Mercy Falls, Montana. It doesn’t help much that his former singing partner is taking credit for all his songs. Or, that his hero-of-a-father was hurt in a search and rescue accident. Or, that he has to work closely with Kacey, his ex-fiance, on the PEAK Rescue team. Oh no…what could possibly be bad about all that?! But when a group of kids get lost in the mountains, its up to Ben and Kacey to work past their differences to bring them home safely.

Take a journey through the skies and across the rugged forests of Montana’s mountains as Kacey and Ben navigate the troubled waters of restoring their past. This search and rescue team is sure to leave you on the edge of your seat!

I can’t wait to see what comes next in the Montana Rescue series! Its too bad publishers don’t release a whole series of novels at once like Netflix originals, am I right? 😉

You can pick up Wild Montana Skies at your favorite bookstore (online or off!):

Amazon
BNoble
CBD
Lifeway
Family Christian Bookstores
Books-A-Million

Happy Adventuring! 🙂

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Revell in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve just started this one last night, and although I’m only about 100 pages in, it has me thoroughly hooked!! I love a book that completely engulfs the reader that you forget everything else 🙂 And I’m asking myself why have I not read any of her books before now? Well, I’m definitely going to be resolving that by stalking out her back-listed books, lol!
    Thanks for the great review! This series is definitely on my must-read list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Baker Kella says:

      I was completely hooked too!! All I could think was “adventure! and “I’m soooo glad I’m not on that helicopter!!” haha 🙂

      You should check out her Christiansen Family or Noble Legacy novels! I’ve loved both of those series. 🙂 Happy reading, Trixi!!

      Like

      1. Thanks for the recommendations Kella! She’s definitely on my my radar now. I got to find time between my own book reviews, I’m sure you know how that goes…lol!

        Like

Leave a Reply

