The Cautious Maiden

29885744

The Cautious Maiden
Written by: Dawn Crandall
Publisher: Whitaker House
Month, Year: October 4, 2016

A brief summary from Dawn Crandall:
Violet Hawthorne is beyond mortified when her brother Ezra turns their deceased parents’ New England country inn into a brothel to accommodate the nearby lumberjacks; but when Violet’s own reputation is compromised, the inn becomes the least of her worries. In an effort to salvage her good name, Violet is forced into an engagement with a taciturn acquaintance; Vance Everstone. 

As she prepares for a society wedding, Violet learns that her brother had staked her hand in marriage in a heated poker game with the unsavory Rowen Steele, and Ezra had lost. Now Rowen is determined to cash in on his IOU. With danger stalking her and a new fiance who hides both his emotion and his past, Violet must decide who to trust and who to leave behind.

My Thoughts:
Once again Dawn Crandall has done the impossible: she turned a devious scoundrel into a beloved character worthy of my ardor. Its still unbelievable to me that I actually like Vance Everstone. How did this happen??!

Throughout the previous three delightful novels, my dislike of Vance grew immensely.

Playboy.

Deviant.

Scoundrel.

A villain of untoward actions creating chaos wherever he landed. I honestly found myself wishing Dawn hadn’t written him to begin with – did we truly need another Everstone brother in the mix? –  until rather suddenly, I loved him! I’m quite shocked by this change of heart. SHOCKED!

The Cautious Maiden is a swoon-worthy, must read!! I loved every bit of this story, from Violet and Vance’s impromptu engagement to Ezra Hawthorne’s various undermining tactics to pay back his debts. The ending took me by complete surprise, which I was absolutely thrilled with! I love when novels are unpredictable 🙂

I’m quite morose at seeing The Everstone Chronicles end, but The Cautious Maiden is a reader’s dream for a finale book in a series! I can’t wait to see what Dawn writes next!!

GIVEAWAYS!!!

Now that I’ve got you thoroughly excited to read The Cautious Maiden, I’ve got great news!! Dawn has 3 giveaways going on for a chance for 8 people to win copies of this novel!! WHOOOO!!! Let’s get this party started! 🙂

Dawn is giving 2 lucky winners a paperback copy of The Cautious Maiden, a tea set (Trust or Wisdom – aren’t they gorgeous?!!), AND a KJVER Study Bible!! Talk about a grand prize!! Click on either photo to link to the Rafflecopter giveaway.

14591730_1298868126790888_5806043735728852910_n    14721503_10209777633730916_9138732517167055183_n

One person will win a copy of The Cautious Maiden here on Baker Kella! Click on the photo below to enter:

14361400_1092942787408651_3630973575779680999_o

Last but not least – Dawn and GoodReads have teamed up to giveaway FIVE copies of The Cautious Maiden!! FIVE!!! Click on the book cover photo below to enter:

29885744

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Dawn Crandall and Whitaker House in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

