From This Day Forward

28637644

From This Day Forward
Written by: Lauraine Snelling
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Month, Year: October, 2016

A brief summary from Lauraine Snelling:
Deborah MacCallister, head nurse at the Blessing hospital, has loved Toby Valders since her school days, but she’s had enough of their on-again, off-again relationship. Toby truly cares for Deborah, but he’s never felt like he could commit to marriage or a family.

When Anton Genddarm, the new schoolteacher, comes to town, the young women of Blessing see a chance to force Toby’s hand with a little strategic matchmaking. But real sparks fly between Deborah and Anton, and she finds herself in an even more complicated situation. The attention she gets from Anton makes Toby do some serious soul-searching, but is it too late?

Then Deborah receives an invitation to study the latest advances in nursing at a hospital in Chicago, and she faces a hard choice. To leave or stay? Should she give up on the dream of Toby and accept the interest of Anton?

My Thoughts:
With multiple POV’s, an exuberant amount of characters, and a very slow pace, From This Day Forward was not the propelling read that I had expected. As the fourth novel in the Song of Blessing series, it is imperative that you read the three previous novels before picking this one up. This is in no-way a book that also works as a stand-alone!

On the cusp of becoming a spinster and wondering if she’ll ever get married, Deborah MacCallister finds herself pining for the one man who is clueless about her feelings, Toby Valders. Clueless, that is, until a handsome new teacher rides into town and becomes the competition in winning Deborah’s heart. Not only does Anton make Toby alert to his feelings, but when Deborah leaves for a month for some training, he finds himself thinking of her at every turn. Which man will win Deborah’s affections?

Normally, I enjoy reading Lauraine Snelling’s works…but not this time. Sadly, I found From This Day Forward to be quite cluttered and overwhelmingly confusing. To be completely honest, I couldn’t finish the novel (I’m cringing right now, admitting that as I did). I reached about ½ – ¾ of the way and had to put it down, which is something I really don’t like to do, but I couldn’t keep forcing myself to read. I believe From This Day Forward wraps up the Song of Blessing series quite nicely – there are no loose ends – but I wish this book had had more substance as the finale.

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

Leave a Reply

