Stuffed Pepper Soup

I’m having a rough day, topped with a rough evening where I come home to a fridge and freezer not working, leaking, and losing most, if not all, of my newly bought groceries.

So, basically, this is Monday at its finest.

Anyone else ever have one of these days?

img_5776

Thankfully, not knowing what I had in my fridge and pantry, I went grocery shopping right after work for my ingredients for this super delicious Stuffed Pepper Soup recipe. So all is not lost.

…except for the leftovers. Party of one over here can’t eat a whole pot of soup in one night, although I’m sure people would pay good money to see me try. 🙂

And so, as I sit here drafting this post, I’m chowing down on a hearty, healthy, chunky soup that warms me to my very soul. It might have been a rough day and evening, but sometimes a bowl of soup is all a gal needs to gain some perspective.

img_5770

*1 lb ground beef
*1 yellow onion, chopped
*3 bell peppers (your choice in color; I like the rainbow effect), chopped
*2 cloves garlic, minced
*2 TBSP olive oil
*2 14.5 oz cans petite diced tomatoes
*1 15 oz can tomato sauce
*1 14.5 oz can beef broth
*1.5 TBSP dried parsley
*1/2 tsp dried basil
*1/2 tsp dried oregano
*1 bag frozen cauliflower, riced
*Mozzarella cheese for topping
*Salt & Pepper

img_5772

In a skillet, heat 1 TBSP olive oil over medium heat. Add the ground beef to the skillet, season with salt and pepper. Cook the ground beef until browned, breaking apart the meat as you cook. Once browned, drain the beef of any liquid and pour over a plate lined with paper towels to soak up any excess grease. Set plate aside.

img_5771     img_5773

In a stock pot, heat the remaining 1 TBSP olive oil. Add the onions, bell peppers, and garlic, sautéing for 3 – 5 minutes.

img_5774

Add to the pot the diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, beef broth, spices, and cooked ground beef.

img_5775

Bring soup to a boil, lower the temperature to low, cover and simmer. Stir occasionally for 30 minutes.

Add 1 bag of frozen, riced cauliflower to the pot. Cook for an additional 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve, top with a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese, and enjoy!

img_5777

 

Baker’s Notes:
I changed a couple things from the original recipe, which I found over at Cooking Classy.

This Stuffed Pepper Soup is perfect for anyone doing Whole30 or THM, as this would be an S-Meal. If you’d like to make a lighter version of this soup, use ground turkey instead of ground beef.

Leave a Reply

