Shredded Chicken Cordon Bleu

Yesterday, I stumbled upon a recipe for Chicken Cordon Bleu.

I’m not talking the kind of CCB that you pull from the freezer and heat up in the oven.

We’re talking home cooked, delicious smells wafting in the air, can’t wait for leftovers the next day kind of CCB.

Yea, I think ya’ll are going to love this recipe! So, while you peruse this recipe at your leisure, I’m going to go heat up my lunch. Because its leftover day and these delicious leftovers are calling my name!!

img_6214-1

*2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
*1 ham steak, chopped
*4 oz butter, melted
*4 oz 1/2 fat cream cheese, softened
*1 oz lemon juice
*1 tsp spicy mustard
*6-8 slices of swiss cheese
*salt and pepper to taste

**To start this meal off, you’ll want to remove any excess fat before cooking and shredding the chicken breasts. I boiled the chicken in some water with salt until it was fully cooked through.**

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

img_6233     img_6234

Grease the bottom and sides of a glass pan (I only had a pie pan available). Evenly layer the shredded chicken at the bottom of the pan. Add the ham on top, distributing evenly.

In a small bowl, mix together the butter, cream cheese, lemon juice, and spicy mustard. After the sauce has been mixed and thickened, spread over the ham and chicken.

img_6238

Add a layer of Swiss cheese over the pan until fully covered.

Bake 30-40 degrees until cheese is bubbly and golden.

Enjoy!

img_6242

Baker’s Notes:
This meal is so so sooooo delicious! I’m normally not a fan of Chicken Cordon Bleu, but when I originally saw this recipe on Joy Filled Eats, I knew I needed to try it out! After adjusting the recipe down a tad (I am a party of one over here!) from the original, I think this turned out amazing, AND I have leftovers for at least 3 more meals! *happy dance*

img_6241

This recipe is fairly heavy with dairy. I suggest pairing this meal with a salad or mixed veggies for a nice balance of flavors. 🙂

If you are following Trim Healthy Mama, this would be an S-meal.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

