The Shattered Vigil


The Shattered Vigil
Written by: Patrick W. Carr
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Month, Year: November, 2016
Amazon | CBD | B+N

A brief summary from Patrick W. Carr:
Victory over the dark forces during the feast of Bas-solas should have guaranteed safety for the continent. Instead, Willet and the rest of the Vigil discover they’ve been outsmarted by those seeking to unleash the evil that inhabits the Darkwater. Jorgen, the member of the Vigil assigned to Frayel, has gone missing, and new attacks have struck at the six kingdoms’ ability to defend themselves.

Just when the Vigil thought they had quenched the menace from their enemy in Collum, a new threat emerges: assassins hunting the Vigil, men and women who cannot be seen until it’s too late. The orders of the church and the rulers of the kingdoms, fearing the loss of the Vigil’s members altogether, have decided to take them into protective custody to safeguard their gift. On Pellin’s orders, the Vigil scatters, leaving Willet to be taken prisoner by the church in Bunard.

In the midst of this, Willet learns of the murder of an obscure nobleman’s daughter by one of the unseen assassins. Now he must escape his imprisonment and brave the wrath of the church to find the killer in order to turn back this latest threat to the northern continent.

My Thoughts:
I am in utterly astounded at the wondrous nature of The Shattered Vigil, the second full-length novel in Patrick W. Carr’s The Darkwater Saga. This book exudes action and adventure. A country on the brink of war and thinly veiled peace, a precipice ready to crumble under the overreaching evil grasp of the Darkwater.  The Vigil under attack at every angle with barely a thread of hope for survival. A rouge on the hunt to redeem his name and reputation, to find the meaning behind the black vault in his mind, to save not only himself but the people he’s grown to love and admire.

The Shattered Vigil exceeded my expectations as a sequel novel to The Shock of Night. So enamored in this book was I that it was all I could do to stop reading each night and force myself to go to bed! And that ending!!! EEEK!!! *internally screams* I am beyond anxious to find out what happens next in this series!! But patience must be a time-tested virtue that I’m about to be schooled in, because Carr’s third novel in this series, The Wounded Shadow, does not yet have a release date. At least I can console myself my re-reading the first two books in the series! 🙂

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 


2 Comments Add yours

  1. carylkane says:

    WOW! What an awesome review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Baker Kella says:

      Thanks so much! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s