Raging Storm + Giveaway

What if you suddenly found yourself launched into a new era of primitive living? One where chaos ruled the terrain, everything you knew had suddenly disappeared, and the only person you could trust is yourself.

Would you survive?

Vannetta Chapman’s sequel novel in The Remnant Series, Raging Storm, dwells on this kind of survival. The kind of survival that looks beyond the next five minutes, the next few hours, the next day. The kind of survival that sees beyond the rising chaos and raging uncertainty. Survival that quells the rolling fear found in the depths of hearts uncertain.

Shelby Sparks is learning what it means to feel fear and survive in spite of it. She has to, not only for her own survival, but for the survival of her teenage son who is in desperate need of insulin as their stash is dwindling in short supply. Gathering courage and ammo, Shelby and a few close friends make their way to Austin, TX to find the medication they so badly need. But things are more dire in the big city then they were led to believe. In fact, its boarder-line apocalyptic madness! The government is hanging on by a thread, bodies line the streets, the city is burning, and drug lords rule eery corner. Will Shelby and her friends ever find what they are searching for, or will the Austin eat them alive?

Readers will find themselves eagerly turning pages, unable to put Raging Storm down! Intensely thrilling and intricately descriptive, this dystopian read is an excellent sequel to Chapman’s Deep Shadows. In fact, I might just like it more than book one. 🙂 Ending this novel on a cliffhanger was both genius and frustrating!! I can’t wait to read what happens next…but that’s the problem – I HAVE TO WAIT!!! At least I can daydream about what’s going to happen next in this series! 🙂

You ready to read Raging Storm yet? 🙂 YAY!! But first – meet Vannetta and find out what inspired her while writing this dystopian series!!

vc-profile

Vannetta Chapman writes inspirational fiction full of grace, including romantic suspense and Amish romance novels. She is the author of seventeen novels, including the Pebble Creek Amish series, The Shipshewana Amish Mystery series and Anna’s Healing, a 2016 Christy Award finalist. Vannetta is a Carol award winner and also received more than two dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups.  She was a teacher for 15 years and currently resides in the Texas hill country. Connect with her on:

Thanks so much for having me on your blog. Readers often ask me what inspires me to write the characters and stories that I write. The answer is a lot of things–sermons, music, news stories, people I know. But once I have a story in mind, I will notice quotes from things I’m reading that seem to apply, that move the story in the direction I want it to go, that speak to my heart.

“Pray for the remnant that still survives.” This is a verse from 2 Kings, Chapter 19, verse 4. In this part of the Bible, the kings are warned by the prophets, both about Jerusalem’s destruction as well as its deliverance. King Hezekiah understands what lies ahead, and he utters these words, “Pray for the remnant that still survives.” As I was envisioning a world vastly changed, I have complete faith that there will always be a remnant of Christ, those who hold to the faith and share the Gospel of Christ.

“That will not be the time for choosing: it will be the time when we discover which side we really have chosen.” This is a quote from C.S. Lewis in The Case for Christianity. I find it beautiful and chilling. Lewis seems to be saying that a time will come when we will find our self on one side or the other. And so, we should choose now, and choose wisely.

“We are living on the brink of the apocalypse, but the world is asleep.” This quote is by bestselling author Joel Rosenberg. There are times when I feel like we are hyper-aware of the world around us, that we allow events beyond our control to rob us of our sleep and our joy. But I also feel that we take many things for granted. We rise and work and play and sleep, and rarely take the time to prepare for the future, or to connect with one another while we can. In that sense, Raging Storm is a call to action.

“In the blink of an eye everything can change. So forgive often and love with all your heart. You may not have that chance again.” ~Zig Ziglar. I saw this quote on social media, and it resonated in my heart so much that I printed it out and kept it posted beside my computer as I wrote all 3 books of this series. I know personally that life can change in a breath–for better and sometimes for worse. We have all been guilty of taking today and even tomorrow for granted. My hope is that when readers finish with these books, they’ll have a deeper appreciation of the time they have, of the people around them, and of the grace that God offers to us all.

30556120

Raging Storm
Written by: Vannetta Chapman
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Month, Year: February, 2017
Amazon | CBD | B+N

A brief summary from Vannetta Chapman:
When a massive solar flare wiped out all modern technology across the globe, the small town of Abney, Texas, was thrown into chaos. Shelby Sparks and her teenage son, Carter, have found refuge, but Shelby knows she can’t simply remain hidden forever. Carter is a type 1 diabetic in need of insulin—and Shelby will risk her life traveling to Austin to make sure he gets it.

Shelby’s best friend and high school sweetheart, Max Berkman, won’t even consider letting her make the perilous journey alone. Together, they manage to get to the capital—only to discover that while things are desperate in Abney, Austin has turned into an urban nightmare on the brink of anarchy.

Shelby and Max’s search for medical supplies will lead them into terrifying territory, where the only thing more uncertain than finding what they need is the hope of making it out of the city alive.

Vannetta is also giving one lucky winner a copy of Raging Storm!!! Click on the cover photo above to enter the giveaway! The winner has their choice to receive this in print or as an e-read. Open to USA residents only.

30556120

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Vannetta Chapman and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. This giveaway is endorsed by Vannetta Chapman and is held at the discretion of the blog, Baker Kella.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Pam Graber says:

    1.) I read Overshadowed and have Deep Shadows waiting on my Kindle. I would love to keep the series going once I get started. Plus, I have enjoyed every Vannetta Chapman book I’ve ever read, and I’ve read quite a few of them.

    2.) I’m not a huge fan of dystopian novels. I am partway through Rachelle Dekker’s Seers series and am at least acquainted with The Hunger Games (I saw the movie.)

    3.) The most chilling quote is the one from Joel Rosenberg, “We are on the brink of an apocalypse but the world is asleep.” I also appreciate the quote from C.S. Lewis. He spoke wisdom.

    Like

  2. Trixi O. says:

    1.) I have a copy of Deep Shadows and look forward to this next installment of this series 🙂 Plus, I do enjoy Vannetta’s writing!

    2.) I’ve only read one Dystopian series by Terri Blackstock called “The Restoration” and enjoyed them. They made me think about what could happen & how my own reaction would be to something like that happening. It really makes one realize what’s important in life!

    3.) This is the quote that stands out the most for me: “That will not be the time for choosing: it will be the time when we discover which side we really have chosen.” by C.S. Lewis. I think when the time comes when we as Christians need to choose a “side” if you will, then I pray God will give me the grace and strength to choose Him! Too scary to think of anything else, I want my eternity to be spent with Him.

    Thanks for the giveaway chance and featuring Vannetta on your website!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trixi O. says:

      I just found out that I won a copy of this book on another blog, please go ahead and take my name out of the drawing, thanks!

      Like

  3. I recently read Overshadowed and Deep Shadows. Looking forward to reading Raging Storm soon. Thanks for this review and author interview. Will share this 🙂

    Like

  4. carylkane says:

    1. I have Deep Shadows and I would love to add Raging Storm to my collection.

    2. Dystopian fiction is a new genre for me.

    3. The quote that strikes me the most is “We are living on the brink of the apocalypse, but the world is asleep.” by Joel Rosenberg. I do feel that the world has been lulled to sleep by the enemy. Our Lord’s return is very close.

    I shared the giveaway on Facebook and tagged you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

