CRVQ (Chicken + Roasted Veggies + Quinoa)

Last week I mentioned that I was trying my hand at meal-prepping. I’m happy to say that it worked out fairly well for me…except I ran out of food by Thursday night because I didn’t calculate enough meals for the whole week!!! HA!!

But, I’m happy to reveal that the meals I did eat where insanely delicious, packed with protein and healthy carbs, and set my mouth on fire. Particularly this CRVQ, Chicken + Roasted Veggies + Quinoa, meal.

Have you ever roasted veggies before? Somehow, in the mysteriousness of the oven, veggies turn sweet and savory, delightful flavors bursting forth like the sun through stormy clouds. It.is.AHHHMAZING!!!

img_6621

The great thing about this meal is how overly simple it is to make. Mix and match any veggies that you prefer – broccoli, Brussels sprouts, tomatoes, potatoes, garlic, carrots, sweet potatoes, beets…the list goes on and on!! Add in some oil and spices, and roast away!

Wanting the flavors of the spring weather we’re experiencing in NC, I went with summer veggies – zucchini, yellow squash, grape tomatoes, and red onion. I added some paprika and crushed red pepper to represent that famous NC heat, drizzled on coconut oil for sunshine warmth, and set the pan to roasting. It’s truly that easy!!

The best thing about this recipe is that after every meal I felt fully satisfied. I wasn’t left feeling hungry or wanting anything else to munch on. The combination of veggies, quinoa, and chicken made for a perfectly light lunch or dinner and I felt energized afterward. In fact, I loved this savory-sweet meal so much that I’m making it again this weekend!!

 

img_6615-1

*1/2 lb chicken breasts, pre-cooked and chopped
*3 zucchini, chopped
*3 squash, chopped
*1 red onion, diced
*1 pint grape or plum tomatoes
*2 cloves garlic
*1 TBSP Italian seasoning
*1 tsp salt
*1/2 tsp black pepper
*1/2 tsp paprika
*1/2 TBSP red pepper flakes
*2 TSP Coconut oil, liquid form
*1 cup quinoa, cooked

Prepare the quinoa as you normally would. I use a rice-cooker and let that baby go while I cook everything else.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and set aside.

In a large bowl, add all the veggies and spices and mix. Then drizzle the coconut oil over everything. Mix well.

Dump the bowl onto the baking sheet and spread the veggies out evenly.

img_6619-1

Place the baking sheet in the oven and bake 10-15 minutes. Remove the sheet from the oven and stir well, flipping the veggies to their opposite side. Place the sheet back in the oven and bake another 15 minutes. Remove from oven once the veggies either shrink in size or develop a char on the outside.

In a microwavable bowl, heat the chicken up until just tender.

img_6620-1

Place some quinoa at the bottom of your dish and add the chicken and veggies on top. Enjoy!!

Baker’s Notes:
I was able to get 6 meals out of this recipe – Hooray for leftovers!!

For those of ya’ll doing THM, this is a delicious way to get an E-meal in for the day! Each serving has 20g protein, 5g fat, and 26g carbs.

I adapted this recipe from Gimme Delicious Food! You can find Layla’s original recipe here! Be sure to check out her other recipes – they look incredible and I can’t wait to try more out!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

