Unblemished

28449231

Unblemished
Written by: Sara Ella
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Month, Year: October, 2016
Amazon | CBD | B+N

A brief summary from Sara Ella:
Eliyana has always recoiled from her own reflection in the mirror. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world existed where her blemish could become her strength?

Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a hideous birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her as normal. Maybe even beautiful. Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved.

But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird.

Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly.

Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

My Thoughts:
Before I can even get to my review, can we talk about how absolutely gorgeous this cover is? I mean – LOOK AT IT!!

28449231

The second I saw this book, I was smitten and knew I needed to read what sounded like a fantastic out-of-this-world urban fantasy. And it was just that – a fantastic out-of-this-world urban fantasy!

For as long as she can remember, Eliyana has been the loner, the outcast, the girl with a hideous birthmark on her face – a mark that Eliyana hides any chance she can get. Very few people have been able to breach the birthmark wall Eliyana has put up: her mother, a new girl at high school, and Joshua, the most amazing, handsome, and funny guy who moved in next door.  But when her mom suddenly dies, Eliyana’s world is upended. Joshua is suddenly her new guardian, her new friend could care less about her mom’s death, a guy in NYC is stalking her, and all Eliyana wants is to escape.

But escape comes a bit differently than what Eliyana had planned when she’s suddenly kidnapped and take through a portal to a new world. A world where her birthmark is both revered and hated. A world where her birthmark places a bounty on her head.

In order to survive, Eliyana must team up with a group of hodgepodge shapeshifters, Guardians, and double-crossing schemers….but will she ever see her glorious Central Park again?

Unblemished is a whirlwind of action, taking readers from the fast-paced high rises of NYC to the intensely dangerous Reflections (other worlds) filled with turmoil, action, and a love triangle that is out of this world. Literally. Because they are from another world (see what I did there? 🙂 hehe).

I highly enjoyed reading Unblemished. The fantasy aspect was incredibly intriguing, with all the differing Reflections and attributes a person could get (shape shifting, being a Guardian, etc.). And that love triangle – oh.my.word. I’m #TeamKy all the way, but still – it was fantastic!

One thing I did have trouble with was keeping up with all the differing names of people and places. There was a lot going on and I wish I had had a directory or reference guide to help keep track of everyone and every place. I was reading on my Kindle app, but perhaps the physical book has a copy of this.

Overall, I was impressed by Sara Ella’s Unblemished. The novel finished with just enough closure to make my heart happy, while offering enough intrigue to get me excited to read the sequel novel, Unraveling, which released in July of this year. Unblemished is a great read for YA and adults alike, and I highly recommend this urban fantasy novel.

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from NetGalley and Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Reminds me of “The Uglies” book series only more with fantasy element added to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

