Herb Steak Foil Pouches

The past couple of months have been sort of crazy with an assortment of doctor’s visits, medication switches, and a couple of biopsies to top it all off. The biopsies came back great – praise GOD for that!! But still, my body needs to get its act together. Enough’s enough!

One cool thing the doctor did though, was taking a complete blood panel. It amazes me how much information can be stored in a lil ole blood cell! The nurses took 7 vials of my red cells, which equals to about 17 different tests, and came back with 4 pages of information! Information I had no clue about, and confirmation on things I already knew. Like having a small allergy to nuts (who knew?) or the confirmation that yes, I do in fact have a Hashimoto’s thyroid (no surprise there!). What was even more surprising was the fact that apparently, I’m really iron deficient and extremely low on some of the vitamins, D & B’s. Guess who gets to take gummy Flintstones vitamins now? 🙂

IMG_9015

The bit about being iron deficient really got to me. All these years, I’ve had doctors telling me to watch my sodium intake, lower is better. So I said hello to pink Mediterranean salt and sea salt, canned products that listed “no added salt”, and as much fresh produce as I could handle. But, did you know these sea salts on their own don’t contain iron? I had no clue! Here I was thinking I was doing something really good for my body, particularly my under-zealous thyroid, and really, all I was doing was hurting myself by becoming boarder-line anemic. One good thing has come out of this all – I now have a doctor’s approval to eat more red meat, including steak! *Glory Hallelujah* And the people said “Amen”! 😉

If you’re looking to increase your iron intake, without taking a supplement, try incorporating more of these iron-rich foods into your diet:

  • Red meat
  • Salmon, halibut, tuna
  • Leafy greens: spinach, kale, swiss chard, beet greens
  • Vegetables: potatoes, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, palm hearts, broccoli
  • Fruit: prunes, apricots, olives, peaches
  • Beans & chickpeas
  • Seeds & nuts

Since my doctor put me on a increased iron, low-carb plan to get my levels better, I’ve been Pinterest-ing super delicious meals that I think will work. Including this amazing steak and veggie medley covered in a garlic herb butter that’s cooked in a foil pouch. Its freaking fantastic!! And each serving (I got about 5 servings from this recipe) comes in at about 22g carbs and 20% of my daily iron intake. I’ve made this recipe multiple times now, in fact, its my lunch today. 🙂 Enjoy!!

IMG_8836

*1/2 – 1 lb small red potatoes, cut into fourths
*3 carrots, sliced
*1 red bell pepper, chopped
*1 green bell pepper, chopped
*1/2 cup red onion, chopped
*1.5 lbs top sirloin steak, cut into one inch cubes
*1/2 cup butter, softened
*1/4 cup parsley
*4 garlic cloves, minced
*1 tsp thyme
*1/4 + 1/2 tsp salt
*1/4 + 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
*1 TBSP EVOO
*Aluminum foil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

 

In a medium bowl, mix together the red potatoes, carrots, red and green bell peppers, and red onion. Sprinkle 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper on top. Add the EVOO. Stir well until everything has been coated with the oil.

 

Tear off 4-6 large pieces of aluminum foil. Evenly place the vegetable mix on each piece of foil. Then, portion out the cubed steak over the vegetables.

 

In a small bowl, add the butter, parsley, garlic, thyme, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp black pepper. Stir together until fully incorporated.

IMG_8852

Dollop the herb butter throughout each foil pouch (I did about 3 dollops per pouch).

IMG_8853

Double fold the tops of the foil and then fold the ends.

Place the foil pouches on a baking sheet and bake for 60 minutes.

IMG_8854

Carefully open the foil pouches – lots of steam coming out!! – and serve.

IMG_8861

Baker Kella’s Notes:
I adapted this recipe from Alyssa over at The Recipe Critic. Click here to check out her original Butter Garlic Herb Steak Foil Packets recipe!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looks so good! I have to work to get more iron in my diet also.

    Like

Leave a Reply

