Chicken, Kale, & Sweet Potato Soup

 

It finally feels like Autumn here in North Carolina!! *happy dance*

In fact, I was so excited to see that it would be in the 60’s today that I broke out one of my long-sleeve blouses to wear to work. HA!

But fall means delightful things. Like pumpkins, sweet potatoes, FOOTBALL (Yes, NCSU IS #16 in the ACC & the Seahawks are #2 in the NFC West!!!), state fairs, corn mazes, changing leaves, and boots. Oh, how I can’t wait to pull out my boots!!

IMG_9401

Autumn also means its the perfect time to dig in to deliciously hearty soups, stews, and chilies. And when I stumbled upon this Chicken, Kale, & Sweet Potato recipe a few weeks back, I knew it was only a matter of time until this would be a stocked soup in my fridge and freezer!

If you kind of cringe over the idea of spending hours upon hours over the hot stove making soup – don’t you worry about a thing!! This recipe is a dump and go! Meaning dump it all in the crock pot and go about your day. The perfect kind of cooking, right? It literally might be one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever hosted on this blog! And its delicious too! Hope ya’ll enjoy this one. 🙂

IMG_9402

*4 small-medium sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into 1-inch cubes
*1 bunch kale, sliced into ribbons
*1.5 lb boneless, skinless, chicken breasts
*(2) 32 oz boxes of Low Sodium Chicken Broth
*2 tsp Italian Seasoning
*2 tsp black pepper
**1 tsp pink salt (I ended up omitting the salt since the broth was salty enough on its own)

IMG_9403  IMG_9404  IMG_9405

Add all the ingredients into the crock pot.

Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours, or low 5-6 hours.

IMG_9407

Remove the chicken from the crock pot and shred using two forks. Return the chicken to the slow cooker and stir all the ingredients together.

Serve in a bowl and enjoy!

IMG_9408

Baker Kella Notes:
I was able to get 5 generous helpings of soup from this recipe. Since I’m not a huge fan of eating leftovers, I ended up freezing 2 portions of this and when I went back to eat it a few weeks later, everything was just as tasty as if I had made it that day. So don’t be afraid to freeze those leftovers for a later day!

Notes for THM – this should be an E-Meal. Below is the nutritional information when I entered the ingredients I used into MyFitnessPal:

Capture

I adapted this recipe from Robyn at Real Food Whole Life. Check out her original recipe here.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

