Winning Miss Winthrop

36809331

Winning Miss Winthrop
Written by: Carolyn Miller
Publisher: Kregel Publications
Month, Year: March 2018
Amazon | CBD | B+N

A brief summary from Carolyn Miller:
Catherine Winthrop is almost at her last prayers, rejected years ago by the man who stole her heart. When tragedy brings him back into her life, she must suffer further grief in silence, amid her family’s pain and hostility, which eventually sends her to seek solace in Bath.

Jonathan Carlew might be wealthy, but the mystery surrounding his birth has shadowed his life, bringing fresh challenges as he takes on the Barony. Caught between appeasing the Winthrop family’s concerns and doing what he could to salvage their failing estate, he must also weigh the echoes of the past with the demands of his new responsibilities.

Two hearts must decide whether present speculation will condemn them to the dust of their memories, or if the whispers of forgiveness can provide freedom for the future.

My Thoughts:
Winning Miss Winthrop is a literary tango of longing and heartbreak with two characters engaged in a taunting dance, each one vying to be the lead.

There were moments when I really loved this novel, and other times when I was so frustrated with the characters that I just wanted to pull a Joey and put the book in the freezer (Friends reference anyone?!). I think most of my frustration stemmed from the characters needing to have a full-on conversation to clear the air and remove confusion –  I don’t like it when characters drag confusion on too long in a plot. But, I did enjoy all the Regency vibes this novel gave. The characters (despite my frustration) are endearing and you really get to the heart of both Catherine and Jonathan and understand where they are both coming from.

While this isn’t my favorite novel of Carolyn Miller’s books, I do really enjoy her writing style and can’t wait to see what she writes next! If you love all things Regency, I think you’ll really enjoy any and all of Carolyn’s books!

I was graciously provided a free copy of this novel from Kregel Publications in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. 

One Comment Add yours

  1. jengalaxy4 says:

    Book in the freezer…LOL! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment